[Sir Edwin Landseer.] Seven Autograph Letters Signed (all 'E Landseer'), six to Lady Caroline Kerrison and one to her husband Sir Edward Kerrison, with news of the highlands and country houses, shooting parties, dogs, and his 'mild shipwreck'.

Sir Edwin Landseer (1802-1873), English animal painter and sculptor of the lions in Trafalgar Square [Sir Edward Kerrison and his wife Lady Caroline Kerrison, daughter of the Earl of Ilchester]
Publication details: 
Five on his letterhead, St John's Wood Road, NW [London]; the others on letterhead of Stoke Park and Boulogne, the latter sent to Sir Edward from Kinrara, Aviemore, Scotland. 1865, 1866 (4), 1868 and 1869.
SKU: 13923

Totalling 14pp., 12mo, and 7pp., 16mo. On seven bifoliums. In good condition, lightly aged and creased. The Kinrara letter, the only one addressed to Sir Edward Kerrison, has as letterhead a vignette captioned 'BOULOGNE | Laitières Milkwomen'; the Stoke Park letter on cream paper, the others on grey paper, with Landseer's letterhead, with antler motif, printed in red. The seven letters in an envelope with contemporary inscription: 'Letters from Sir Edwin Landseer'. Written in a difficult, hurried hand, with six of the seven letters addressed to 'Dear Lady Caroline Kerrison' and the other (from Kinrara) to her husband as 'My dear Kerrison'. Sir Edward's letter (4pp., 12mo), dated 7 October 1866, describes how he 'left Dunrabin on the Morning of the 3d. in the Dukes [i.e. the Duke of Sutherland] yacht with a group of Dunrabin friends - our object was to catch the train at - which unhappily was frustrated by Sea fog. Staffords ship came bump on rocks - hard & fast - Natives in life Boats & small craft came out to help, had the Wind been high we should have been in gt danger [...] in truth we all expected to swarm up the Rigging we were too late for train - I had to grin and bear it'. He admits to being 'out of health', adding that he was advised to make '"a total change" in Foreign parts, which did not agree with me'. He 'left London accompanied by Dr. Quain - I as [sic] a patient under his care - at first home was Chillingham - finally Dunrobin where the increasing excitement was a little too much game no lull'. After a paragraph in which he complains that he is 'pledged to engagements' he continues: 'The Forest here is a gt combination & quite a good thing.' He concludes: 'I have, for a used-up old Student, done pretty well in my few days of Forest life - we hope to make out 150 stags, 96 up to the present time. This Scribble will doubtless find you and her Ladyship in perfection'. Lady Caroline's six letters are as follows. ONE: 4 December 1865. He has 'just returned from Norman Court (Mr P Barings) where I regret to say I found the Shooting a little too much for my addle headed condition - Dr Quain recommends me not to undertake the field just yet'. He complains that 'The Blue continue to torment me and have almost put the finishing touch to my own white hairs'. He left 'No. 1 of [Anthony Trollope's novel] "Can You Forgive Her" with Lady Tankerville at C. C. and sent her No 2 when I had finished it. She promised to give it to you! "Can you forgive her"?' TWO: 17 December 1866. He has sent 'Lassie's Child' (a dog?) to the Kerrisons' London address, and thinks that 'she will turn out well - has a charming temper, perhaps, a little bit nervous. I hope & trust she may find a tender nurse on the path to Oakley Park [Sir Edward Kerrison's Suffolk mansion]'. He has 'christened her Whiley'. THREE: 19 November 1866. Accepting an invitation. FOUR: 5 November 1866. Describing encounters at Chillingham, 'on my way from the highlands'. He appears to be offering six puppies from a litter, adding 'I'm lonely! I have only <160?> living specimens'. FIVE: 30 July 1868. On Stoke Park letterhead. He is 'still recommended to remain in Shade!' SIX: 1 November 1869. He thanks the Kerrisons for their invitation to a shoot: 'at present I can't jump to a conclusion [...] It will be to me a great mortification if I can't take advantage of your kind remembrance of me'. He has had 'a sadly disappointing holiday in the Highlands where I did not arrive till the 5th. of Occt. - my chief amusement has been poking the fire from Bed Room Window and watching the Drifting Snow. - My last home was dear old Chillingham [country seat of Earl Grey] - where dear old and his charming wife did their pest to perk me up'.