Search the catalogue

Search results

Author, Title, Summary Subject Price
Margaret Lane [ Margaret Winifred Hastings, Countess of Huntingdon ] (1907-1994), British novelist, journalist and biographer

[ Margaret Lane, English novelist and biographer: 'it really was a thrilling adventure'. ] Typed Letter Signed ('Margaret Lane') to 'Miss Cond' [ Eileen M. Cond ], on the writing of 'A Calabash of Diamonds'.

1p., 12mo. On grey paper. In fair condition, lightly aged. She is returning Cond's bookplate, which she has signed with great pleasure, and is very glad Cond has enjoyed 'A Calabash of Diamonds', which 'really was a thrilling adventure and I don't suppose we shall ever experience anything quite...

Matrimonial News, London periodical (Frederick Farrah, proprietor) [ John Russell Gubbins [ John Russell Legh ] of Bruree House, Limerick ]

[ Victorian matchmaking: 'consult me personally & see cartes of 500 Ladies'. ] Two Autograph Letters Signed (both 'Editor | M N') and printed agreement from the editor of Matrimonial News to J. Russell Gubbins of Limerick, who is in search of a wife.

A marvellous slice of Victorian social history. The entry for 'Matrimonial News' in 'Frederick May's London Press Dictionary and Advertiser's Handbook, 1871' runs as follows: 'MATRIMONIAL NEWS AND SPECIAL ADVERTISER – 2d. F. Farrah, 282, Strand, W.C. Devoted to the promotion of marriage and...

Max Müller [ Friedrich Max Müller ] (1823-1900), German-born philologist and Orientalist, based in Britain, opponent of the linguistic theories of Charles Darwin [ Henry Charles Shelly ]

[ Max Müller, philologist and Orientalist, opponent of Charles Darwin. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('F. Max Müller') to 'Mr Shelley' (i.e. H. C. Shelly) of the Glasgow periodical The Baillie. With inscribed photographic portrait.

From the papers of the journalist Henry Charles Shelly (sic), who would appear from the letter to have been connected with the Glasgow periodical The Baillie. ONE: ALS (24 February 1891). 3pp., 12mo. In good condition, lightly aged. He gives him permission to 'print the enclosed extract in the...

Parch. D. Johns [ David Johns (1796-1843) ], Cenadwr Dros Amryw Flynyddau Yn Yr Ynys [ Madagascar ]

[ Madagascar persecution of Christians: Victorian pamphlet in Welsh. ] Hanes Am Erlidigaeth Y Cristionogion Yn Madagascar; Ynghyd A Diangfa Y Ffoedigion I Brydain Fawr. Gan Y Parch. D. Johns, Cenadwr Dros Amryw Flynyddau Yn Yr Ynys.

An abbreviated version of 'A Narrative of the Persecution of the Christians in Madagascar' by J. J. Freeman and David Johns. Johns was for seventeen years one of the London Missionary Society's missionaries in Madagascar. 94pp., 12mo. Disbound pamphlet without wraps. Some staining to title-leaf...

Sir Charles Archibald Nicholson, 2nd Baronet (1867-1949), English church architect; his mother Lady Sarah Elizabeth Nicholson (born Keightley), wife of Sir Charles Nicholson, 1st Baronet (1808-1903)

[ Sir Charles Archibald Nicholson, church architect, ] Autograph Letter Signed ('Charles A. Nicholson'), with printed circular by his mother, both regarding the fire at the family home, The Grange, Totteridge, Hertfordshire.

See the entries on the two baronets in the Oxford DNB. For the context of this item see Times, 23 February 1899, reported: 'A MANSION BURNT. - Early yesterday morning the mansion of Sir Charles Nicholson, of Totteridge, three miles from Barnet, caught fire, and before effective help could be...

Sir James Murray [ Sir James Augustus Henry Murray ] (1837-1915), Scottish lexicographer, editor of Oxford English Dictionary [ New English Dictionary on Historical Principles; Philological Society ]

[ Sir James Murray, lexicographer, editor of the Oxford English Dictionary. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('J. A. H. Murray') to an unnamed recipient, regarding his non-authorship of a dictionary by 'John Henry Murray', Mrs. Franklin Richards, a lecture

2pp., 12mo. On aged and worn paper, with a few closed tears to edges. Twenty-six lines of text, in a neat small hand. The letter begins, possibly in reference to the 'Companion Dictionary of the English Language' by 'James Henry Murray' (12mo, London, 1892): 'Dear Sir, | The little Dictionary to...

Sir Joseph Banks; T. A. Knight [ A. J. Valpy ]

[ Regency pamphlet. ] A Short Account of the Cause of the Disease in Corn, Called by Farmers The Blight, the Mildew, and the Rust. By Sir Joseph Banks, Bart. Third Edition, with Additions: And A Letter to Sir J. Banks, On the Origin of the Blight.

Title-page reads, in full: 'A Short Account of the Cause of the Disease in Corn, Called by Farmers The Blight, the Mildew, and the Rust. By Sir Joseph Banks, Bart. Third Edition, with Additions: | And | A Letter to Sir J. Banks, On the Origin of the Blight, and on the Means of Raising Late...

Sydney Holland, Chairman, London Hospital, Whitechapel; Eva Luckes [ Eva Charlotte Ellis Lückes ] (1854-1919), Matron of the London Hospital ]

[ London Hospital, Whitechapel, on eve of First World War. ] Three printed items: pamphlet by Sydney Holland and Eva Luckes opposing 'State Registration of Nurses', leaflet on 'The Nurses' Insurance Society', syllabus of 'Cookery Demonstrations'.

The three items are from the papers of Winifred M. S. Parry of Plumstead, who was enrolled as a probationer in 1912. ONE: 'State Registration of Nurses'. Pamphlet in small print, 'Reprinted by kind permission of the Editor of The Nineteenth Century and After'. Printed by 'SCHOOL-PRESS, 5, Rupert...

T. Williams, [Hafrenydd] Llanidloes

[ The health of the people of Wales: Victorian medical pamphlet in Welsh. ] Y Cydymaith Teuluaidd, A Chyfarwyddwr I Iechyd; […] Gynghorion Defnyddiol, Amrywiaethol, a Chyffredinol. Gan T. Williams, [Hafrenydd] Llanidloes.

48pp., 12mo. Disbound pamphlet without wraps. In fair condition, lightly aged and worn, with slight staining to outer leaves. A guide to health for the common people, with remedies. Written in Welsh, with a scattering of words in English. Williams is described on the title-page as 'Awdwr Y “...

William Cowper, Clerk of the Parliaments [ i.e Chief Clerk of the House of Lords ], 1716-1740, uncle of the poet William Cowper (1731-1800) and son of the judge Spencer Cowper (1670-1728)

[ Stationery for the Georgian House of Lords: William Cowper, Clerk of the Parliaments ] Manuscript Receipt, Signed twice by 'Wm Cowper', of stationery 'Delivered for His Majestys Service to The Honble. Wm. Cowper Esqre. Clerk to The House of Peers'.

2pp., 8vo. In good condition, lightly aged and worn. On a single leaf of laid paper (with crown 'G R' watermark), signed at the foot of each page 'Wm Cowper'. Entries dating from 30 June to 2 August 1737. Around fifty items of stationery, placed together in twelve groups, the twelve totals...