Search the catalogue

Search results

Author, Title, Summary Subject Price
T. F. Powys [Theodore Francis Powys] (1875-1953), novelist and short-story writer, brother of John Cowper Powys and Llewellyn Powys [Collin Brooks (1893-1959), journalist and Fleet Street editor]

[T. F. Powys, novelist.] Autograph statement on 'this matter of writing stories', with Autograph Note Signed ('Theodore Francis Powys') to 'Colin' [Fleet Street editor Collin Brooks].

Two items, in good condition, lightly aged. ONE: Autograph statement on 'this matter of writing stories'. 1p., 4to. With a couple of minor emendations. Signed at foot: 'Theodore Francis Powys | East Chaldon | Dorchester | Nov 11. 1935'. At bottom left: 'If unsuitable do not trouble to return'....

£250.00
Katie Malecka, Polish musician, journalist, and nationalist imprisoned in Warsaw by the Russians

[Katie Malecka, Polish musician and nationalist, imprisoned by the Russians.] Autograph Letter Signed ('Katie Malecka'), in English, to 'Mrs Green', regarding a lecture in Bristol and her desire to 'leave off being "the prisoner of Warsaw"'.

Malecka was born in England, the daughter of a Polish father and English mother. In 1912 she was imprisoned in Warsaw by the Russians, 'on a charge of conspiring against the Russian Government'. The matter was raised in the British parliament, and reported widely, for example in the Spectator...

£280.00
Lady Beatrice Rochdale [Lady Beatrice Mary Kemp, Baroness Rochdale, née Egerton] (1871-1966), children's author and suffragist [George Gilbert Armstrong (1870-1945), radical journalist and politician]

[Lady Beatrice Rochdale and 'the Suffrage Cause'.] Autograph Letter Signed ('Beatrice Rochdale') to 'Mr Armstrong' [radical journalist G. G. Armstrong] regarding the arrangements for a meeting he is giving on the question.

The wife of a Liberal MP and author of children's books, Lady Beatrice Rochdale 'spoke, helped at suffrage stalls, etc.; took part in processions' (see J. Vellacott, 'From Liberal to Labour with Women's Suffrage', 1993). 2pp., 12mo. In good condition, lightly aged. She notes that Armstrong has '...

£65.00
Margaret Ashton (1856-1937), suffragist, local politician, pacifist and philanthropist, the first woman City Councillor for Manchester [George Gilbert Armstrong (1870-1945), radical journalist]

[Margaret Ashton, Manchester suffragist and local politician.] Autograph Letter Signed ('Margaret Ashton') to 'Mr Armstrong' [the journalist George Gilbert Armstrong], regarding 'suffrage work' and 'the N[orth] W[est] Manchester Bye Election'

1p., 12mo. In good condition, lightly aged. She asks if he is 'able to give us any time for speaking open air during the N W Manchester Bye Election. It looks as if our Suffrage work would be propaganda only but we mustn't lose the chance. We shall open a C[ommi]ttee room on Monday'. She asks...

£75.00
Sir Digby Wyatt [Sir Matthew Digby Wyatt] (1820-1877), architect, Slade Professor of Fine Art at Cambridge [Peter Le Neve Foster (1809-1879), Secretary, Society of Arts, London; Herbert Minton]]

[Sir Digby Wyatt, Slade Professor at Cambridge.] Five Autograph Letters Signed (all 'M. Digby Wyatt') to Peter Le Neve Foster, Secretary, Society of Arts, the first two regarding his paper on the Staffordshire potter Herbert Minton.

The influential potter Herbert Minton (1793-1858), of the Staffordshire firm Thomas Minton and Sons, had died on 1 April 1858. A couple of months later, on 26 May 1858, Wyatt read before the Society of Arts his paper 'On the Influence exercised on Ceramic Manufactures by the late Mr. Herbert...

£220.00
W. H. Corfield [William Henry Corfield] (1843-1903), Professor of Hygiene and Public Health, University College London [George Frederick Armstrong (1842-1900), Professor of Engineering, Ediinburgh]

[William Henry Corfield, Victorian pioneer in the field of hygiene and public health.] Autograph Letter in the third person to 'Miss Armstrong' [daughter of Professor G. F. Armstrong], regarding his 'course of Lectures on Hygiene to Ladies'

2pp., 12mo. Bifolium with mourning border. In good condition, lightly aged. Begins: 'Prof. Corfield presents his compliments to Miss Armstrong and begs to inform her that his Course of Lectures on Hygiene to Ladies will commence on Thursday Octr. 2nd at University College, London, and will be...

£45.00
W. W. Jackson [William Walrond Jackson] (1838-1931), Rector of Exeter College, Oxford, 1887-1913 [George Frederick Armstrong (1842-1900), Regius Professor of Engineering at Edinburgh University]

[William Walrond Jackson, Rector of Exeter College, Oxford.] Autograph Letter Signed [to Professor George Frederick Armstrong], explaining the reasons for declining his application for a 'Professorial Fellowship' at Exeter College.

4pp., 12mo. Bifolium. In good condition, lightly aged. Armstrong (who is not named, although the item is from his papers) has responded to an advertisement placed by the college regarding a fellowship, and in reply Jackson explains that while he feels that it would 'be deemed a great advantage...

£35.00
'Max Wall' [Maxwell George Lorimer (1908-1990)], comedian and actor in music hall, theatre, film and television

['Max Wall' [Maxwell George Lorimer), comedian and actor.] Autograph Signature: 'Good luck to Enid! | Max Wall | 1951'.

On one side of 8 x 13.5 cm leaf of cream paper. In good condition, lightly aged and worn, with slight creasing to one corner. A good, firm underlined signature. Reads: 'Good luck to Enid! | Max Wall | 1951'. On the reverse is the autograph of an unknown signatory: 'To Enid | [Sister? Lister?] [J...

£28.00
George B. McClellan, American soldier, civil engineer, railroad executive, and politician

[ George B. McClellan; Civil War ] Subscription to Autograph Letter Signed pnly, to "[Mr Chausey?]"

Lower half of a letter only, 13 x 8cm, fold marks, sl. remnants of having been laid down in album, two edges sl. roughened, mainly good condition. Surviving Text, "time. Will you give my kindest regards to Mrs [Chausey?], Harry & Lucy | & believe me [??] friend | Geo B McClellan"

£125.00
Jules Dalou [Aimé-Jules Dalou] (1838-1902), French realist sculptor [Edward Charles Chepmell (1820-1885), society homeopathist]

[Jules Dalou, French realist sculptor.] Autograph Letter Signed ('J Dalou') to 'Mr. Chepmel' [society homeopathist Edward Charles Chepmell], in French, asking him to accept a small terracotta sculpture as a mark of gratitude for his efforts.

2pp., 12mo. Aged and worn. He is extremely grateful for Chepmell's efforts on his behalf, and hopes he will accept 'cette petite terre cuite comme un faible temoignage de mes reconnaissances'. Dalou's association with the Paris Commune forced him into exile in England in 1871. He returned to...

£120.00