Search the catalogue

Search results

strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_style_default::options() should be compatible with views_object::options() in /home/richardf/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/views_plugin_style_default.inc on line 24.
Author, Title, Summary Subject Price
Sigismund Goetze [Sigismund Christian Hubert Goetze] (1866-1939), English artist and art patron at Grove House, who painted the Foreign Office 'Empire Murals'

[Sigismund Goetze, English artist.] Autograph Letter Signed to 'Mrs. Poole', regarding a portrait of King Charles II, as prince and in Oxford robes, in his Grove House collection.

4pp, 12mo. Bifolium. In good condition, lightly aged, with two smudges on second page. Folded once. With reference to her letter 'to Mr. Somerset of March 11th. re the portrait of Charles II (as Prince) in academic robes', he has had the picture by William Dobson photographed and encloses a copy...

£80.00
Sir William Rothenstein (1872-1945), painter, printmaker, draughtsman, lecturer, and writer on art [Rachel Kay-Shuttleworth (1886-1967)]

[Sir William Rothenstein, artist.] Autograph Card Signed ('W. Rothenstein') to Rachel Kay-Shuttleworth, announcing that 'with some regret' he will be changing his name to 'W. Rutherston'.

Twelve closely-written lines, on 8.5 x 11.5 cm card addressed by Rothenstein to 'The Hon. R Key-Shuttleworth | 28 Princes Garden | SW'., this being the same address as on the letterhead. In good condition, lightly aged. He begins by discussing 'Mr Booth' and his offer concerning 'the second...

£180.00
Thomas Adolphus Trollope (1810-1892), prolific author with a renowned villa in Florence, elder brother of the novelist Anthony Trollope, husband of Theodosia Trollope and Frances Eleanor Trollope

[Thomas Adolphus Trollope, prolific author, older brother of Anthony Trollope.] Autograph Signature ('T. Adolphus Trollope') on part of letter.

On one side of 5 x 13 cm slip of paper cut from the end of a letter. In good condition, lightly aged, with central vertical fold. Laid down on piece of paper removed from album. Reads: '[...] I shall be delighted to come to you. | Yrs always faithfully | T. Adolphus Trollope'.

£25.00
William Buckland (1784-1856), Dean of Westminster, theologian, geologist and palaeontologist [William Bernhardt Tegetmeier (1816-1912), naturalist, friend of Charles Darwin]

[William Buckland, Dean of Westminster, theologian, geologist and palaeontologist who wrote the first dinosaur description.] Autograph Note Signed ('W Buckland'), introducing his friend 'Mr Dering' ('much interested in poultry') to W. B. Tegetmeier.

2pp, 12mo. Aged and worn, with one edge trimmed (on removal from mount), and closed tears to creases. Reads: 'Dear Tegetmeier | Allow me to introduce to you my friend Mr Dering who is much interested in Poultry & wishes to ask you a few questions | Yours &c | W Buckland'.

£35.00