Engravings of New Zealand, Australia, Tasmania, etc., from De Sainson, and two maps, in Vol.3 [Tomo III] of the Spanish edition of Dumont D'Urville's 'Voyage Pittoresque' ('Viaje Pintoresco al Rededor del Mundo').

M. Dumont D'Urville, Capitan de Navio [Louis Auguste de Sainson (1801-1887), official artist on board Dumont D'Urville's L'Astrolabe, during its three months' tour of New Zealand in 1827]
Publication details: 
Barcelona. Imprenta y Libreria de Juan Oliveres, Calle de Escudellers, Núm. 53. 1841.
SKU: 15492

The 77 plates (uncoloured steel engravings) are in 4to format, in good condition, on lightly-aged paper, in the third volume of the work ([4] + 318 + [1]pp., 4to), which is in a worn contemporary brown leather half-binding with marbled paper covers. Most of the plates carry two half-page illustrations. 28 of the plates (between pp.66 and 167; and carrying 52 illustrations, 48 of them half-page and 4 full-page) concern New Zealand, Australia and Tasmania, with the majority relating to New Zealand. These show views, fauna, inhabitants, atrefacts, and incidents on D'Urville's voyage. Also present are two fold-out maps: the first ('Dessiné e Gravé par Ambroise Tardieu') is a 'Carte de la Nouvelle Zélande pour servir au Voyage pittoresque autour du Monde par M. D'Urville. 1835'; the second a 'Carte Générale de l'Océan Pacifique. Pour servir au Voyage Pittoresque. Dessiné par M. D'Urville. 1834.' The first of the maps is in fair condition, lightly aged and creased; the second is in poor condition, torn into two pieces and heavily-creased. The title page to the volume states that it is 'Adornado con mapas jeograficos, varios retratos y SEISCIENTAS laminas finas dibujadas por M. DE SAINSON y grabadas sobre acero por los mejores artistas franceses.' The maps and plates have been supplied by the publishers of the original French edition. The volume includes engravings of: Java; Australia (Nueva Holanda); Tasmania (Tierra de Van-Diemen); Nueva Zelandia; Nueva Caledonia; Rotouma; Islas Otdia (Padak); Carolinas - Otdia; Marianas; Islas Pelew; Juan Fernandez - Cabo Horno; Malvinas; Santa Helena; Ascension; Azores - Francia.