Long Typed List [by Rolfe Arnold Scott-James?], with numerous emendations and additions in manuscript, headed 'List of Reviewers [in the London Mercury] since October, 1934.'

[Rolfe Arnold Scott-James (1878-1959), editor of The London Mercury from 1934, succeeding Sir J. C. Squire [Sir John Collings Squire] (1884-1958]
Publication details: 
Without place or date. [London, 1938 or 1939?]
SKU: 13523

2pp., 4to. In fair condition, on lightly aged and worn paper. The first page consists of a typescript in two columns, with names scored through and a few added in pencil. The second page has a few typewritten names, together with dozens added in pencil, clearly at different times. From 1919 the London Mercury's original editor J. C. Squire promoted the traditional verse of the Georgian Poets and their prose counterparts; on taking over in October 1934 Scott-James embraced the more fashionable modernist writing, and that change is reflected in the present list. The names on it include 'Miss Scott-James' (clearly a relation), Isaiah Berlin, Olaf Stapleton, Sir Edward Grigg, Leonard Woolf, William Plomer, Rose Macaulay, Alec Waugh, Liddell Hart, C. E. M. Joad, Sean O'Faolain, Edwin Muir, James Hanley, Sir Archibald Hurd. In a few cases the reviewer's specialities are given (for example 'W. A. Ismay (E. Indies mod politics classics)' and 'F. A Clement (archaeology biology . . . short notes)'). In one case an address is given: 'Richard David (Shakespeare etc) 10 Queen St, Cambs'. The London Mercury ceased publication in April 1939.