[Welsh Working Men's Club and Institute.] Manuscript 'General Income and Expenditure Book' containing itemised and audited accounts of the Working Men's Club and Institute, Cefn, Kenfig Hill, Bridgend, and the Talbot Miners' Welfare Institute.

[Working Men's Club and Institute, Kenfig HILL, Bridgend, South Wales, 1911-1938] [Talbot Miners' Welfare Institute.]
Publication details: 
[Kenfig Hill, Bridgend, South Wales.] 1 February 1911 to 18 January 1938.

The present volume provides a fascinating sidelight into the operations of an archetypal Working Men's Club (Labour leader Ed Milliband was recently described as being 'more at home in Primrose Hill than Kenfig Hill') at what was perhaps the high point of such an institution, covering the period from just before the Great War to the end of the Depression of the 1930s. The accounts relate to two locations: the Cefn Institute and the Talbot Miners' Welfare Institute. The latter was founded in 1911 after a gift from the Talbot family, and closed in 1959.

Syndicate content