POLYTECHNIC

[Printed British Act of Parliament.] The South London Polytechnic Institutes (Borough Road Site) Act 1890. An Act To authorise the purchase of a Site in Southwark for the South London Polytechnic Institutes. [Royal Assent, 2nd May, 1890.]

Author: 
[The South London Polytechnic Institutes (Borough Road Site) Act 1890; Borough Polytechnic Institute; South Bank University; H. R. T. Alexander, Solicitor; Dyson & Co., Parliamentary Agents]
Publication details: 
'W. S. Johnson, "Nassau Steam Press," 60, St. Martin's Lane, W.C.'
£180.00

[2] + 6 + [1] pp., 8vo. Stapled and unbound. Good, on lightly-aged paper, with minor rust spotting from staples. Above the printer's slug are the details of 'H. R. T. Alexander, 27, Ely Place, Holborn, E.C., Solicitor' and 'Dyson & Co., 24, Parliament Street, Westminster, Parliamentary Agents'.

Albert Rutherston: A Catalogue of the Illustrated Books, Periodicals, Pamphlets, Christmas Cards, Pantomimes, Diaries and Almanacks, Pattern Papers, Ornaments and Autographed Letters in the Collections of Manchester Polytechnic Library.

Author: 
Ian Rogerson [Albert Rutherston (1881-1953), artist and illustrator; Sir William Rothenstein]
Publication details: 
Manchester: Manchester Polytechnic Library, 1988.
£10.00

Quarto: ix + 21 pages. Stapled. In original cream wraps, with colour cover illustration by Helen Taylor. Full-page reproduction of drawing of Rutherston by his brother Sir William Rothenstein. Introduction places Rutherston in the tradition of Edward Gordon Craig and Claud Lovat Fraser. Copies of the second edition (1992) recorded by COPAC, but not at BL or Bodley.

Scrapbook of material relating to the foundation of the Chelsea Polytechnic Institute.

Author: 
Chelsea Polytechnic [the South-Western Polytechnic; Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea]
Publication details: 
1890-94 ; London.
£200.00

The South-Western Polytechnic was opened at Manresa Road, Chelsea, in 1895, to provide scientific and technical education to Londoners. It changed its name to Chelsea Polytechnic in 1922. Renamed Chelsea College and formally incorporated into the University of London, 1971. An important collection, casting much light on the foundation of the College. In very good condition overall, despite being on paper discoloured with age and by glue. Five items.

Autograph Signature of Pepper and part of Autograph Signature of Brewster.

Author: 
John Henry Pepper and Sir David Brewster
Publication details: 
Without date or place.
£80.00

Pepper (1821-1800) was an illusionist and educationist, famous for 'Pepper's Ghost', his 'spectral optical illusion' exhibited in 1862, illustrating Charles Dickens's 'Haunted Man'. Brewster (1781-1868) was a natural philosopher and academic administrator. On a clean, lightly-creased piece of paper, dimensions approximately 3 1/2 inches by 1 1/4 inches. Traces of previous mounting on reverse. Reads 'John H Pepper | Hony Director | <...>d Brewster F R. S | &'. Pepper was the Honorary Director of the Royal Polytechnic in Regent's Street.

Syndicate content