LOVAT

[Lovat Fraser, editor of The Times of India.] Autograph Letter Signed ('Lovat Fraser') to the news editor of the Daily Mail, sending 'something short' regarding 'Lord Hardinge's arrival' (having served as Viceroy of India).

Author: 
Lovat Fraser (1871-1926), editor of The Times of India, writer and traveller [Charles Hardinge, 1st Baron Hardinge of Penshurst [Lord Hardinge] (1858-1944), Viceroy of India, 1910-1916]
Publication details: 
On letterhead of the White House, Slough. 23 April 1916.
£80.00

1p., 12mo. In fair condition, on lightly-aged paper, with traces of brown--paper mount adhering to blank reverse. He is sending, at 'Mr Marlowe's request, [...] something short to be added to your announcement of Lord Hardinge's arrival' (not present). He realises that 'space is limited', so he has 'made a brief catalogue of his principal doings'. He ends by asking for the piece to be anonymous.

Typed Letter Signed ('Holbrook Jackson') to G. S. Tomkinson of Whitville, Kidderminster.

Author: 
George Holbrook Jackson (1874-1948) [Sir Geoffrey Stewart Tomkinson (1881-1963); Lovat Fraser; Flying Fame; Fleuron; New Age Press; fine printing; bibliography]
Publication details: 
26 February 1925; Regent House, Kingsway, London, W.C.2.
£100.00

8vo: 2 pp. 32 lines of text. Good, on lightly-aged paper. He is willing to help Tomkinson with his book 'Modern Presses', but would not 'have time to be responsible for the writing of any chapters'. Offers to answer 'a questionnaire' regarding 'Flying Fame', and directs Jackson to his 'articles on the work of Lovat Fraser in the "Bookman", the "Fleuron", and "To-day".' Paragraph discusses the 'New Age Press', which 'was not a Press at all, but a publishing business'. In the last paragraph changes his mind, and offers to write a brief chapter.

List of publications 'At the Sign of Flying Fame' in the form of a handbill.

Author: 
[CLAUD LOVAT FRASER; RALPH HODGSON; HOLBROOK JACKSON]
Publication details: 
PRINTED BY A. T. STEVENS, OF 55 ST. MARTIN'S LANE, IN THE CITY OF WESTMINSTER, FOR R.H., L.F., AND H.J., AT THEH SIGN OF FLYING FAME, 45 ROLAND GARDENS, | LONDON, S.W., WHERE COPIES MAY BE HAD. | 1913.'
£20.00

Printed on pink [faded from red?] unwatermarked paper, with cream backing. Dimensions of paper roughly fourteen centimeters by thirty-three centimeters. A frail ephemeral item. Lightly creased, and with further creasing and closed tears at head and foot, and minor loss at head. Faded, and with further fading at head. Headed 'At the Sign of Flying Fame.' Illustration by Lovat Fraser of mounted seventeenth-century man blowing bugle over cityscape. 'LIST OF PUBLICATIONS' includes details of six broadsides and four chap-books.

Announcement by "Hardwicke C.", Lord Chancellor.

Author: 
[PRINTING HISTORY] [Samuel Billingsley, bookseller, printer [BBTI 1724-1760]]
Publication details: 
[1746]
£120.00

One page, c.6.5 x 4.5", verso blank, right edge irregular (extracted?), small tear, sl.ightly marked, good condition. "In pursuance of an Order of the House of Peers, of the Nineteenth Day of March 1746, I do appoint SAMUEL BILLINGSLEY to Print the whole Proceedings in the House of Peers, upon the Impeachment exhibited by the Knights, Citizens, and Burgesses, in Parliament assembled, in the Names of Themselves, and of all the Commons of Great Britain, against Simon Lord Lovat, for High Treason; And do forbid any other Person to Print the same. / Hardwicke C."

Albert Rutherston: A Catalogue of the Illustrated Books, Periodicals, Pamphlets, Christmas Cards, Pantomimes, Diaries and Almanacks, Pattern Papers, Ornaments and Autographed Letters in the Collections of Manchester Polytechnic Library.

Author: 
Ian Rogerson [Albert Rutherston (1881-1953), artist and illustrator; Sir William Rothenstein]
Publication details: 
Manchester: Manchester Polytechnic Library, 1988.
£10.00

Quarto: ix + 21 pages. Stapled. In original cream wraps, with colour cover illustration by Helen Taylor. Full-page reproduction of drawing of Rutherston by his brother Sir William Rothenstein. Introduction places Rutherston in the tradition of Edward Gordon Craig and Claud Lovat Fraser. Copies of the second edition (1992) recorded by COPAC, but not at BL or Bodley.

A garland of new songs by L. F.

Author: 
[CLAUD LOVAT FRASER; RALPH HODGSON; HOLBROOK JACKSON; AT THE SIGN OF FLYING FAME]
Publication details: 
PRINTED BY A. T. STEVENS, OF 55 ST. MARTIN'S LANE | IN THE CITY OF WESTMINSTER, FOR FLYING FAME, | 45 ROLAND GARDENS, LONDON, S.W., WHERE | COPIES MAY BE HAD FROM THE | SECRETARY. | [short rule] | 1913.'
£56.00

Eight pages, 12mo. Unbound and unstitched. Unfolds into a single leaf. Paper watermarked 'OAKWOOD | FINE VELLUM'. Five different illustrations (one of which is duplicated). Grubby, spotted and with small closed tears and fraying along one edge (not affecting text or illustrations). 'PRICE FOURPENCE PLAIN; SIXPENCE COLOURED.' This copy is uncoloured.

A garland of portraitures.

Author: 
[CLAUD LOVAT FRASER; RALPH HODGSON; HOLBROOK JACKSON; AT THE SIGN OF FLYING FAME]
Publication details: 
PRINTED BY A. T. STEVENS, OF 55 ST. MARTIN'S LANE | IN THE CITY OF WESTMINSTER, FOR FLYING FAME, | 45 ROLAND GARDENS, LONDON, S.W., WHERE | COPIES MAY BE HAD FROM THE | SECRETARY. | [short rule] | 1913.'
£56.00

Eight pages, 12mo. Unbound and unstitched. Unfolds into a single leaf. Paper watermarked 'OAKWOOD | FINE VELLUM'. Three illustrations. Good, but paper slightly discoloured and with some spotting. 'PRICE 2 PENCE PLAIN, 4 PENCE COLOURED.' This copy is uncoloured.

Illustrated handbill for two of his publications.

Author: 
[CLAUD LOVAT FRASER]
Publication details: 
Without date or place [1916].
£85.00

Printed on unwatermarked tissue paper. Dimensions of paper roughly seven and a half centimeters by eleven and a half. A very good copy of a frail and ephemeral item. An attractive illustration by Fraser of an ivy-clad wall memorial topped by a cherub encloses the following 'There are Published | I. Farewell to the Faeries, by Richard Corbett. | II. Three Poems, by Kenneth Hare. | Decorated and Published by C. Lovat Fraser, and can be obtained from Everard Meynell, 46 Museum Street, W.C. | [short rule] | Price SIXPENCE each, net.'

Syndicate content