ALDRICH

[Thomas Edmund Harvey, Warden of Toynbee Hall.] Two Autograph Letters Signed (both 'T. Edmund Harvey') to 'Mr. Aldrich' [Stephen John Aldrich], with whom he had worked at the British Museum.

Author: 
Thomas Edmund Harvey (1875-1955), Liberal politician, pacifist and Warden of Toynbee Hall, 1906-1911 [Stephen John Aldrich of the British Museum]
Publication details: 
First letter on letterhead of House of Commons Library; 8 November 1907. Second letter on letterhead of Rydal House, Grosvenor Road, Leeds; 3 January 1927.
£56.00

Both items in fair condition, on aged and worn paper. Letter One: 4pp., 12mo. Harvey begins: 'Of course I well remember the too short time when I had the pleasure of being your colleague at the British Museum.' He would like to see Aldrich's 'old Dutch masters' but may not be able to visit him at Bowes Park before 'returning to reconstruction work in France in which I am interested'. He suggests a meeting in the new year, before enquiring whether Aldrich has 'got Sir Sidney Colvin's opinion of your Old masters. He is very interested in these things.' Letter Two: 2pp., 4to.

[Sir Sidney Colvin, Director of the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge.] Autograph Letter Signed ('Sidney Colvin') to 'Mr. Aldrich' [Stephen John Aldrich], regarding his childhood in Barnes, and some Dutch master paintings Aldrich is thinking of selling.

Author: 
Sir Sidney Colvin (1845-1927), art and literary critic, Slade Professor of Fine Art and Director of the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge [Stephen John Aldrich of the British Museum]
Publication details: 
On letterhead of 35 Palace Gardens Terrace, Kensington. 27 January 1918.
£40.00

3pp., 8vo. Bifolium. Good, on lightly-aged paper. Aldrich is writing from Barnes, and Colvin writes that his address 'takes me back sixty years & more, when my people rented (for the winter of 1855-6) what was then Barnes Manor, - the house & park in a bend of the New River belonging to Lord Truro, - and has since been broken up and converted into Barnes Park.' He declines to visit Aldrich and see the pictures he mentions. 'Your account of them, at least of two of them, is so full & exact as to make a visit scarcely necessary: and these Low-country masters of the 17th century.

Autograph Letter Signed ('S. Gibson') from the bibliographer Strickland Gibson of the Bodleian Library, Oxford, to Stephen John Aldrich

Author: 
Strickland Gibson (1877-1958), librarian, bibliographer, and Keeper of the Archives at the University of Oxford [Stephen John Aldrich; Bodleian Library; bibliography; typography]
Publication details: 
On letterhead of the Bodleian Library, Oxford. 27 October 1922.
£45.00

1p., 12mo. In fair condition, on aged and creased paper, unobtrusively repaired with archival tape. Signed 'S. Gibson | (Secretary)'. He explains that as the 'beginning of the Michaelmas Term is an unusually busy time' he has 'only been able just recently to find time to study your very interesting contribution to the history of the R-printer'. He is going to insert Aldrich's article 'in our copy of the Speculum Doctrinale'.

Autograph Letter Signed ('C. R. Aldrich') from the philatelist and cricketer Charles Roper Aldrich of Huyton, to an unnamed female correspondent, regarding a possible exchange of African stamps with the Indian ones of 'Mrs. Dighton'.

Author: 
Charles Roper Aldrich (1935), philatelist and cricketer, of Park House, Huyton, near Liverpool [Mrs Dighton; stamp collecting]
Publication details: 
Park House, Huyton, near Liverpool. 26 November 1895.
£150.00

4pp., 12mo. Bifolium. Fair, on aged and chipped paper. As 'Mails for India leave at the end of the week', he considers the letter to be more convenient for her to forward. What attracted his attention to 'Mrs. Dighton's advertisement was the mention of African Stamps which she wished to obtain in exchange for those of Travancore'. He describes his own interests: 'I am especially strong in African Stamps having much correspondence from the West Coast'. He lists sets he would be willing to send to Mrs Dighton 'in exchange for 3 or 4 full sets of Navancore'.

Signed Printed Memorandum of Agreement between Aldrich and Anthony Blond Limited for a book to be entitled 'Harlem Diary'.

Author: 
Nelson W[ilmarth]. Aldrich jr. [Anthony Blond Ltd].
Publication details: 
20 January 1964; London.
£100.00

4 pages, folio. Somewhat grubby and creased, but in good condition overall. A standard Blond printed contract with manuscript additions and deletions. Signed 'Nelson W Aldrich /' and Anthony Blond'. The work does not appear to have been published.

Syndicate content