Clumber

[ Henry Pelham-Clinton 4th Duke of Newcastle. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('Newcastle'), subscribing for two copies of an 'Historical Dictionary'.

Author: 
Henry Pelham-Clinton, 4th Duke of Newcastle [ Henry Pelham Fiennes Pelham-Clinton, 4th Duke of Newcastle-under-Lyne ] (1785-1851), English nobleman and reactionary Tory politician
Publication details: 
Clumber [ Clumber Park, Nottinghamshire ]. 9 December 1829.
£45.00

1p,, 12mo. In fair condition, on aged and worn paper, laid down on part of a leaf from an album. After apologising for the delay to his answer, he states that he will be 'very happy to subscribe for 2 copies of your Historical Dictionary'. He concludes with thanks for the 'obliging expressions'. The recipient is not named, and may be John Griffith Mansford (c.1786-1863), whose 'Scripture Gazetteer; or, geographical and historical dictionary of places and people, mentioned in the Bible' was published in 1829, although the late date of Newcastle's letter makes that unlikely.

[ Cookery; Menus; Manuscript] Book of Daily Menus [for Duke of Newcastle's residence]

Author: 
[Henry Pelham-Clinton, 7th Duke of Newcastle-under-Lyne 1864-1928; Clumber House]
Publication details: 
22 September 1882-6 January 1884.
£500.00

Green half-leather, worn, one menu per day per page for most days between 22 Sept.1882 and 6 Jan. 1884. A bookplate is the only clue to the family the volume belonged to, the coat of arms and motto ("Loyaulté n a honte") of the Dukes of Newcastle-under-Lyme, specifically at this time (1880s) Henry Pelham-Clinton, 7th Duke of Newcastle-under-Lyne (1864-1928) whose family seat was Clumber House, nr. Worksop, Notts (restored after a fire in 1879; presumably the home of this volume).

Autograph Letter Signed ('Newcastle') from Henry Pelham Fiennes Pelham-Clinton (1811-1864), 5th Duke of Newcastle-under-Lyne, declinging an invitation, and complaining of the effect of his public duties on his private affairs.

Author: 
Henry Pelham Fiennes Pelham-Clinton (1811-1864), 5th Duke of Newcastle-under-Lyne
Publication details: 
Clumber Park, Nottinghamshire. 14 April 1855.
£35.00

4pp., 12mo. 26 lines. Bifolium. Good, on lightly-aged paper. Addressing an unnamed male correspondent, he begins by declining his correspondent's 'kind invitation' to his visit his house, 'on the ground that has already compelled me to refuse similar hospitality on that occasion from Mr. Wright and others'.

Syndicate content