[Sir Robert Liston of Millburn Tower, Scottish diplomat, Ambassador to the United States.] Autograph Letter Signed ('R. Liston.') to Lady Wedderburn, expressing grief on the death of his wife the botanist Henrietta Liston, Lady Liston.

Sir Robert Liston (1742-1836), Scottish diplomat, ambassador to the United States, 1796-1800; his wife the botanist Henrietta Liston, Lady Liston [Lady Frances Wedderburn-Webster] (1793-1837)]
Publication details: 
Millburn [Millburn Tower, Ratho, Scotland]; October 1828.

3pp, 12mo. Bifolium. In good condition, lightly aged, with thin strip of paper from mount adhering to blank reverse of second leaf. Folded twice. Written in response to a letter of condolence on the death of his wife. (See his entry in the Oxford DNB: 'On 27 February 1796 he married Henrietta [Henrietta Liston Lady Liston (1751–1828)], botanist, daughter of Nathaniel (d.

[ Alexander Wedderburn, 1st Earl of Rosslyn, Lord Chancellor. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('Al. Wedderburn') to an unnamed recipient

Alexander Wedderburn, 1st Earl of Rosslyn (1733-1805), Lord Chancellor, 1793-1801, Scottish lawyer
Publication details: 
Cavendish Square [ London ]. '4 o Clock' [ no date ].

1p., 4to. In good condition, lightly aged, and with the neat remains of windowpane mount adhering to the edges. He writes that 'Sir Harry Erskine had applied to the Duke of Ancaster for a passport Ticket for me, but He has just now informed me That He has had an Answer from his Grace about another Ticket but no notice taken of his application for the Pass Ticket. This embarrasses me exceedingly as I have engaged myself with a party who go from the Abbey to the Hall and I should be infinitely obliged to you if you happen to be enough acquainted with the D.

Autograph Letter Signed to Mrs Wedderburn; and Autograph Note to Mr and Mrs G. Wedderburn.

Catherine Sinclair (1800-1864), Scottish novelist
Publication details: 
Letter, 13 February [no year or place]; Note, 23 March [no year], 133 George Street [Edinburgh].

LETTER: One page, 12mo. Good, on aged, creased paper, with trace of stub on blank verso. Crest at head. 'It will give my brother & me much pleasure to accept your kind invitation for Tuesday evening the 16th. - I dine that day with Lady Sempill which will make me later than I should wish, but I hope to reach your house soon after 10'. NOTE: One page, 12mo, good, with fraying at head and traces of mount adhering to blank verso. A formal note written in the third person. 'Miss Catherine Sinclair will be happy to have the honor of accepting Mrs. Wedderburns & Mr.

Syndicate content