HYMNS

[ Ruth Ellis Messenger, hymnologist. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('Ruth E. Messenger') to 'Mr. Wilshire' [ Frederick Allen Wilshire ], thanking him for providing her with an 'open sesame' to the Inns of Court in London.

Author: 
Ruth E. Messenger [ Ruth Ellis Messenger ] (1896-1993), American hymnologist [ Frederick Allan Wilshire (1868-1944), Recorder of Bridgwater ]
Publication details: 
On letterhead of the Cumberland Hotel, Marble Arch, London W1. Undated, but marked as 'Rec[eive]d 17 . 7. 39. [ 17 July 1939 ]'
£120.00

4pp., 12mo. In fair condition, on lightly-aged paper, with minor rust marking from a paperclip. She writes that she and her sister have that day 'worshipped at the Temple Church and enjoyed to the full all the delights that were spread before us, in that rare environment'. His cards have 'proved an "open sesame" wherever we went', and they have 'enoyed the Hall with its associations, and indeed, every bit of the section. Just to look at the courts and walls was an experience not to be forgotten'.

[ Athelstan Riley ] Autograph Note Signed 'Athelstan Riley" to a[ "Mr Lewis"?] about a visit.

Author: 
Athelstan Riley (1858—1945), hymn writer and hymn translator.
Publication details: 
[Printed heading] 2 Kensington Court, W. [London].
£25.00

One page, 12mo, minor staining, mainly good condition. "I shall have much pleasure in calling between 5 and 6 o'clock tomorrow if that will not be too late for you. Please let me know if it is not quite [underlined] convenient, between 4 and 5 I am engaged."

[Elizabeth Rundle Charles, Victorian author and hymn-writer.] Autograph Letter Signed ('Bessie Charles') to 'Mrs Leader'

Author: 
Bessie Charles [ Elizabeth Rundle Charles ] (1828-1896), author of 'The Chronicles of the Schönberg-Cotta Family' (1862)
Publication details: 
7 Victoria Street, Westminster. 'Sunday' [no date].
£45.00

2pp., 12mo. Bifolium. With mourning border. In fair condition, on lightly aged and ruckled paper. Declining a dinner invitation and expressing regret at not being able to call, being 'very much occupied'.

Autograph Score, signed ('Frederic Clay') by English composer Frederic Emes Clay, of his version of Emily Huntingdon Miller's hymn 'I love to hear the story'.

Author: 
Frederic Clay [Frederic Emes Clay] (1838-1889), English composer [Emily Huntington Miller (1833-1913), American poet]
Publication details: 
Undated (1870s?).
£300.00

2pp., 8vo. On both sides of a leaf of scored 29.5 x 23 cm paper. Aged and folded. The first page is numbered 330 in the top left-hand corner, and headed "I love to hear the Story"'. The first page carries the first and third verses of Miller's hymn, scored for piano, signed at foot 'Frederic Clay.' On the reverse, with no heading, is the score of the second verse: 'I'm glad my blessed Saviour was once a child like me / To show how pure and holy His Little ones might be'.

Autograph Letter Signed ('Saml Roberts') from the philanthropist and abolitionist Samuel Roberts of Park Grange, Sheffield, to the poet James Montgomery.

Author: 
Samuel Roberts (1763-1848) of Park Grange, Sheffield, silversmith, author and philanthropist, abolitionist and friend of William Wilberforce [James Montgomery (1771-1854), poet and hymn writer]
Publication details: 
Park Grange, Sheffield, Yorkshire; 20 April 1837.
£280.00

3pp., 4to. Bifolium. Good, on lightly-aged paper. Addressed, with broken seal in black wax, on verso of second leaf, to 'James Montgomery Esqr'. 80 lines of text. He has been twice that day to Montgomery's Sheffield mansion the Mount 'to enquire about you - the first time in vain, and the second nearly so. There they are much as heretofore - but Miss Sarah meaning to write sermons you may have it before this.' Roberts declares: 'I think the present great Lions of the town are myself and mad dogs - perhaps you may think that they might be included under one head - yes - if that head was yours!

Autograph Letter Signed to unknown male correspondent; Autograph Signed endorsement of 'Dr. Dick of Dundee'; and facsimile of letter of thanks to his 'Birth-day Benefactors'.

Author: 
James Montgomery (1771-1854), Scottish hymnwriter and poet
Publication details: 
The letter dated 29 May 1835, 10 New Palace Yard, Westminster; the endorsement dated 'The Mount, September 19. 1850'; the facsimile dated 'The Mount nr Sheffield, Nov. 4. 1851.'
£220.00

The letter (8vo, 1 p) is foxed, but otherwise very good. Had he not been 'engaged for ten days past to dine three or four miles off with an old acquaintance', whom it is too late to disappoint, he would have been happy to avail himself of the kind invitation. Sends best wishes and prayers to the recipient's family, 'from the elder to the youngest'.

Autograph Signature on fragment of letter.

Author: 
Emily Taylor
Publication details: 
Without date or place.
£20.00

Victorian novelist and hymn-writer (1795-1872), author of 'Tales of the Saxons'. Paper dimensions roughly four and a half inches by two. Very good though somewhat grubby. Folded once (not affecting signature). From autograph album. Mounted on piece of green paper. Reads '[...] I heard - remember me very kindly to him & to your sister & daughters. | I am, as ever, | faithfully yours | Emily Taylor.'

Syndicate content