DARWINIAN

[George Henslow, botanist, opponent of Darwinian evolution.] Autograph Letter Signed ('G Henslow') to George St Clair, thanking him for his book ('Darwinism and Design'), and sending a book and paper in return.

Author: 
George Henslow (1835-1925), botanist, opponent of Darwin, proponent of a form of Lamarckianism which he called 'the true Darwinism', son of John Stevens Henslow (1796-1861) [George St Clair]
Publication details: 
'140 Kensington Pk Rd | Nottinghill W. [London]' 4 January 1873.
£50.00

See Henslow's biography in his father John Stevens Henslow's entry in the Oxford DNB. (Botany ran in the family: in addition to father and son, George's sister married J. D. Hooker.) 1p, 12mo. In good condition, lightly aged, laid down with light glue staining on a leaf from an autograph album, carrying a biographical caption in a nineteenth-century hand. Henslow writes the recipient's name ('G S Clair') at bottom left. He thanks him for his book (presumably 'Darwinism and Design', London, 1873), and is sending his own in return, 'also a paper on Natural Theology to wh.

[Thomas Henry Huxley's first defence of Darwinism.] Printed article titled: 'Time and Life: Mr. Darwin's "Origin of Species." | By Professor Huxley, F.R.S.'

Author: 
T. H. Huxley [Thomas Henry Huxley]; Charles Darwin; Darwinism; Darwinian controversy; Origin of Species
Publication details: 
[Seven-page article (pp.142-148), extracted from Macmillan's Magazine, London, December 1859 (vol. 1).]
£150.00

A highly influential article, in which the man who would be nicknamed 'Darwin's Bulldog' fires his opening salvo in the Darwinian controversy. (The article would be followed by a letter to The Times, 26 December 1859.) The seven page article (pp.142-148) is on four leaves, 8vo, extracted from a copy of the December 1859 number of 'Macmillan's Magazine'. Disbound and loose. In good condition, on lightly aged and stained paper.

[ George John Romanes, evolutionary biologist. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('G. J. Romanes') to 'Mr. Harborough', regarding the application of Arthur Nicols to be a lecturer.

Author: 
G. J. Romanes [ George John Romanes ] (1848-1894), evolutionary biologist, born in Canada, friend and colleague of Charles Darwin [ Arthur Nicols ]
Publication details: 
18 Cornwall Terrace, Regents Park [ London ]. 7 May 1883.
£180.00

2pp., 12mo. On bifolium with mourning border. In fair condition, aged and worn, with the second leaf laid down on part of a leaf cut from an autograph album. He is enclosing 'a Lecture Syllabus from Mr. Nicol, whom you may perhaps remember having seen meet me in the committee room on the day of my lecture'. Nicols wants Romanes to recommend him as a lecturer, but he only knows him 'from his book "Zoological Notes" which I reviewed in Nature.

[Darwin connection] Autograph Note Signed "W.S. Dallas" to the Rev. J.M. Mello, geologist, about a paper by Henry Clifton Sorby, geologist inter alia

Author: 
W.S. Dallas [ William Sweetland Dallas ], zoologist.
Publication details: 
[Printed heading] Geological Society, Burlington House, W., 15 Sept. 1874
£125.00

One page, 12mo, good condition, tipped on another peice of paper with unrelated notes on verso. Note (Wiki) "He curated collections at the British Museum and the Yorkshire Philosophical Society, and was editor of the Popular Science Review.

Autograph Letter Signed ('E Ray Lankester') to unnamed male correspondent.

Author: 
E. Ray Lankester [Sir Edwin Ray Lankester] (1847-1929), English zoologist
Publication details: 
28 May [no year]; Exeter College, Oxford.
£25.00

12mo: 1 p. Nine lines of text. Good, on lightly aged and creased paper. Suggests a convenient time for a meeting 'with you, Dr. Masters and Profr. Allman.' Looks forward to hearing from the recipient, once he has 'fixed the hour and the place'.

Three Autograph Letters Signed (all 'G V Reed') to Benjamin Harrison, Archdeacon of Maidstone.

Author: 
George Varenne Reed (1816-1886), anglican clergyman, tutor to Charles Darwin
Publication details: 
3 November 1875, 16 October 1879 and 30 July 1881; all three from Hayes Rectory, Beckenham.
£100.00

All three items are good, though lightly aged, each with a thin strip from previous mounting adhering to the blank reverse of the second leaf of the bifolium. Letter One (12mo, 1 p). Thanking Harrison 'for the copy of your Charge' ['Prospects of peace for the Church in the Prayer Book and its rules']. He would have written the day before 'but we went to the opening of the Memorial Church at Langton yesterday'. Letter Two (12mo, 2 pp): Thanks him for 'so kindly sending me your last Charge ['The memories of departed brethren, and the sacredness of their earthly resting places'].

Syndicate content