FOULIS

[James Foulis, Edinburgh gynaecologist.] Autograph Letter Signed to 'Miss Alice', regarding her gift of an orchid, and his pets and lilies.

Author: 
James Foulis (1846-1901), Edinburgh gynaecologist
Publication details: 
34 Heriot Row [Edinburgh]. 9 June 1897.
£35.00

1p., 12mo. In good condition, lightly aged. The lower half of the reverse laid down on a piece of card from an album. A charming letter apparently written to a young girl, suffused with late Victorian charm. He writes: 'My dear Miss Alice | The little orchid you sent to me last evening was a very sweet one. It belongs to the group “Maxillaria”, all of which are sweetly scented. I miss my old pets very much, but we cannot have everything in this world!; He concludes, after reporting on the state of his 'Lilies', in the hope that the recipient and her sister are in good health.

[ Robert Simson, Scottish mathematician. ] Autograph Letter, with incomplete signature, to unnamed printer, regarding the paying of a bill for paper.

Author: 
Robert Simson (1687-1768), Scottish mathematician, Professor of Mathematics at the University of Glasgow
Publication details: 
Glasgow, 3 May 1736.
£280.00

1p., 8vo. In poor condition, on aged paper, with wear to extremities causing loss to text, including most of the signature, and with spike hole. Describing arrangements, with reference to 'my good friend Mr Clow', to pay the recipient 'the 49£ 7s for the paper', via 'Mr William Drummond who is to be found at Messrs Bayne and Adams York Street St James's'.

Syndicate content