warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/richardf/public_html/modules/taxonomy/ on line 33.

[Charles Waterton, naturalist.] Three Autograph Letters Signed to Lady Cullum, regarding: his approach to natural history, shipwreck, indisposition, temperance campaigner Father Mathew in Wakefield, lions and lion cubs, 'little roman owls'.

Charles Waterton (1782-1865), naturalist and explorer [Lady Ann Cullum (1807-1875), wife of Sir Thomas Gery Cullum (1777-1855), 8th Baronet of Hardwick House]
Publication details: 
12 July 1842; 17 July 1843; 17 April 1853. All three addressed from Walton Hall [Wakefield, Yorkshire].

Three excellent and characteristic long letters, neatly and closely written, in the first of which he describes 'the little tide of misfortune' which has befallen him, including shipwreck and indisposition; in the second he gives a vivid account of a visit to Wakefield by the temperance campaigner Father Mathew; and in the last he explains is reluctance to dissect the body of a bird she has sent him, exclaiming: 'I never do things by halves in Natural History'. Along the way there are references to 'my little roman owls' and 'my lions and my lion cubs'.

['Father Mathew', Irish temperance reformer.] Autograph Letter Signed ('Theobald Mathew') to 'Mr. Coxen' of Bath, explaining that he is 'obliged to sojourn at Hotels, so as to be able to see, every one, Rich and Poor'.

Theobald Mathew (1790-1856), Irish Catholic priest and temperance reformer, popularly known as Father Mathew [Cork Total Abstinence Society; Coxen of Bath]
Publication details: 
London. 27 August 1843.

4pp, 12mo. Bifolium with mourning border. In good condition, lightly aged. He hopes that his 'increasing labours in the Sacred Cause of Temperance in the Metropolis' will excuse his late acknowledgement of the recipient's 'honoured Letter'. He thanks Coxen and his wife for their 'kind invitation', but fears that he will not be 'able to take up my abode at your Mansion', although he promises himself, 'the pleasure of paying you and your aimiable lady a visit during my stay at Bath'.

[Mathew Varenne, bookseller, near Somerset House in the Strand.] Engraved bookplate ('H: Hulsbergh Sc.') with inscription 'This Book and all sorts are to be had at Math: Varrenne's at the Senecas head near Sommerset house in ye Strand.'

[Mathew Varenne [Matthew de Varenne; Varens] (d.1726), bookseller at the sign of Seneca's Head, near Somerset House in the Strand, London; Hendrik Hulsbergh (d.1729), London-based Dutch engraver]
Publication details: 
[Mathew Varenne, bookseller at the sign of Seneca's Head, near Somerset House in the Strand, London. Before 1726.]

Note that Varenne's Christian name is spelled with one 't' on the bookplate, and generally with two 't's by later sources. In good condition, on lightly-aged paper, tipped in onto a grey paper mount. Engraved on a 12 x 8 cm piece of wove paper, with no margin.

Autograph Letter Signed from the West Indian merchant Justinian Casamajor, of Potterells, Hertfordshire, to 'Mrs. Curling', describing the judgement of the Court of Chancery in Antigua regarding the estates of the late Mathew Christian.

Justinian Casamajor [Justinian Casamayor; Casamayorga] of Potterells Grove, Hertfordshire, West Indian merchant [Mathew Christian [Matthew Christian] (d.1778) of Antigua; sugar plantations; slavery]
Publication details: 
St Helens Place, London; 19 January 1809.

3pp., 4to. Bifolium. 56 lines. Good, on aged paper. Addressed on reverse of second leaf to 'Mrs. Curling'. Casamajor is taking 'the earliest opportunity' to inform Mrs Curling 'by the last Packet', that he has 'received an Acc[oun]t. from my agent in Antigua, that the Court of Chancery in that Island had disallowed all Charges of Interest on the Arrears of the Annuities on the late Mathew Christians Estates amounting to £2567.2.5 also the Trustees Commission of £50 a year for 16 years, to this our Counsel'.

Syndicate content