VALERIE

[T. S. Eliot's widow Valerie Eliot, and British Library architect Sir Colin St John Wilson, to playwright Christopher Fry.] Six Typed Letters Signed (all 'Valerie') from Valerie Eliot, and Autograph Card Signed ('Sandy Wilson') from Wilson.

Author: 
Valerie Eliot (1926-2012), wife of T. S. Eliot [Thomas Stearns Eliot] (1888-1965) [Christopher Fry (1907-2005); Sir Colin St John Wilson (1922-2007, British Library architect; Jacob Epstein]
Publication details: 
Valerie Eliot's six letters all on letterheads of 3 Kensington Court Gardens, Kensington Court Place, London. Between 1 September 1994 and 30 July 1996. Wilson's card from the British Library, Euston, London. 11 May 1995.
£1,200.00

Valerie Eliot's six letters are intimate and energetic, two of them casting an entertaining sidelight on Sir Colin St John Wilson's efforts to acquire Jacob Epstein's bust of 'Tom' for the new British Library, with a case of 'sabotage' as Wilson takes her on a tour of its new premises at Euston. The collection is in good condition. All of Valerie Eliot's letters are addressed to 'Dearest Christopher', the last in autograph. ONE: 1 September 1994. 1p, 12mo.

[Jane Cornwell, second wife of spy writer 'f John le Carré' (David Cornwell).] Two Autograph Cards Signed ('Jane Cornwell.' and 'Jane C.') to Ian McPherson, regarding getting her husband to inscribe one of his books for him.

Author: 
Jane Cornwell [born Valérie Jane Eustace], second wife of John le Carré, pen name of David Cornwell (born 1931), spy writer
Publication details: 
Both cards with letterhead 'From Mrs. David Cornwell', at their London address. 25 April and 25 May 1983.
£40.00

The two cards are accompanied by the envelope in which the first card was sent, with stamp and postmark. All three items in good condition, lightly aged. Envelope addressed to 'Ian McPherson, Esq.' at his house on the Isles of Scilly. Both cards written in blue ink on side with letterhead, the other side being blank. ONE: 25 April 1983. She thanks him for his letter and cheque, adding: 'I have no signed copies at present, and in any case we must wait for my husband's return from a research trip during the next week before I can get him to inscribe it specifically for Andrew'.

[Ernest Walker, musicologist and composer.] Autograph Letter Signed, written while assistant organist at Balliol College, Oxford, advising 'Miss White' [Maude Valérie White?] on her musical compositions.

Author: 
Ernest Walker (1870-1949), English musicologist and composer, born in India, Assistant Organist at Balliol College, Oxford, 1891-1901 [to 'Miss White' [Maude Valérie White (1855-1937), composer]
Publication details: 
15 Ship Street, Oxford. 18 November 1898.
£120.00

4pp., 12mo. 65 lines of text. Bifolium. In fair condition: on aged paper with one dogeared corner. He begins by apologising for not returning her manuscript sooner: 'what with my Doctorate exam: and other things, I have been specially busy'. Having been 'completely through the MSS' he lists those he likes best: 'the Rhapsodies (especially No. 1 - also No. 5 and No. 3 - especially the opening subject of No. 5).

Syndicate content