HANNAH

[ Arthur Joseph Munby, diarist and poet. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('A. J. Munby') to the bookseller Bertram Dobell, regarding two lost postal orders.

Author: 
A. J. Munby [ Arthur Joseph Munby ] (1828-1910), diarist, poet and barrister obsessed with women in service [ Bertram Dobell (1842-1914), bookseller and literary scholar ]
Publication details: 
Ripley, Sussex. 23 September 1894.
£65.00

4pp., 12mo. Bifolium. In good condition, lightly aged and worn. The letter concerns two missing postal orders, regarding which Munby reports that he has made enquiries with 'the Ripley postmaster'. He discusses the question, giving the numbers of the postal orders, and writes: 'The postmaster tells me that, as the Orders were crossed, the G. P. O. will (unless by any chance the Orders have been cashed) repay the £1. 4.

[Family of Rev. Dr Thomas Chalmers, Scottish churchman.] Family copy of 'Letters & Journals of Anne Chalmers. Edited by Her Daughter', annotated by her granddaughter Anne Chalmers Bennet Clark and containing a number of related items.

Author: 
Anne Chalmers, wife of Rev. William Hanna and daughter of Dr Thomas Chalmers (1780-1847), Scottish churchman [Anne Chalmers Bennet Clark (1893-1954); Professor Ian Henderson; Roger Hog of Newliston]
Publication details: 
The book 'Privately Printed by the Curwen Press for The Chelsea Publishing Co. 16 Royal Hospital Road, Chelsea, London'. 1922.
£150.00

201pp., 8vo. Quarter-bound with oat cloth spine with printed paper label, and grey paper boards. In good condition, on lightly-aged paper, in worn binding. Autograph signature on front free endpaper of 'Anne C.

Autograph Letter Signed ('V. D. Vroom') from the Democratic Party Governor of New Jersey, Peter Dumont Vroom, to the State Treasurer Charles Parker, informing him that he has issued travel warrants for two women, Hannah Alloways and Mary Ann Daniels.

Author: 
Peter Dumont Vroom (1791-1873), Governor of the State of New Jersey, 1829-1832 and 1833-1836; Democratic member, House of Representatives, 1839-1841 [Charles Parker, Treasurer of New Jersey]
Publication details: 
Somerville [New Jersey]. 29 May 1835.
£180.00

1p., 4to. Bifolium, with address on reverse of second leaf: 'Charles Parker, Esqr. | Treasurer | Trenton. | N.J.', together with red circular Somerville postmark, and docketing. Good, on lightly-aged paper, with light contemporary staining to second leaf, from which the seal has been cut away. The letter begins: 'I have issued warrants for the two following visitors - vizt. | 1. Hannah Alloways. Burlington Co. Warrant dated 20 May '35. | 2. Mary Ann Daniels - Cumberland - [Warrant dated] 29 May '35.

Autograph Letter Signed from the poet Jean Ingelow to 'Mrs Oliver' [Hannah Oliver, wife of Professor Daniel Oliver].

Author: 
Jean Ingelow ['Orris'] (1820-1897), poet and writer [Hannah Oliver (1833-1919), wife of Daniel Oliver (1830-1916), Professor of Botany, University College, London]
Publication details: 
On letterhead of 8 Holland Villas Road, Kensington, W.; 'Thursday' [no date].
£56.00

4pp., 12mo. Good, on lightly-aged paper. Ingelow begins by asking Mrs Oliver to thank 'the Professor' for her. 'I am much interested in his singular reproduction of the curious relics of ornament'. She would like to lunch with the Olivers, but 'We have some cousins coming to stay with us next Monday till the end of the week & I do not see how it can be done as they will like me to go about, with them to the exhibitions &c They live not many miles from Kew [where Professor Oliver was Keeper of the Herbarium and Library] & it would not interest them to go there again'.

Folio broadside ballad, illustrated with woodcut, entitled 'Patient Joe, or the Newcastle Collier.'

Author: 
Z.' [Hannah More] [the Cheap Repository for Religious and Moral Tracts]
Publication details: 
Undated [circa 1795]. 'Sold by S. HAZARD, (PRINTER to the CHEAP REPOSITORY for Religious and Moral Tracts) at BATH; By J. MARSHALL, PRINTER to the CHEAP REPOSITORY, [...] and R. WHITE, Piccadilly, LONDON [...]'
£200.00

On one side of a piece of laid paper, 45 x 27 cm. Dimensions of printing, including decorative border, 37 x 21.5 cm. Woodcut at head (between two vignettes) roughly 6 x 7.5 cm, showing two men with packs, one smoking a pipe, trudging across a field, with a dog in the foreground and what looks like a merry-go-round in the background. Clear and entire. With light water staining, but in good condition overall. The poem, attributed at the end to 'Z.' and announced as 'Entered at STATIONERS HALL', consists of seventy-two lines arranged in eighteen four-line stanzas over two columns.

Syndicate content