[General James Edward Oglethorpe, founder of the American colony of Georgia.] Autograph account from 'Mr John White Dr. to General Oglethorpe', signed "John White", ( regarding the rents of Home Farm and Broadfields in Essex.

[General James Edward Oglethorpe (1696-1785), founder of the American colony of Georgia, army officer and Member of Parliament] John White
Publication details: 
[Home Farm and Broadfields, Essex.] 26 September 1778.

1p., landscape 8vo. In fair condition, on lightly aged and creased paper. Headed 'Mr John White Dr. to General Oglethorpe'. Entries dated from 13 February 1777 to 25 August 1778. The accounts, with debits on the left and credits on the right, cover two and a half years' rental on Home Farm at £171 per anum, and one and a half years' rental on Broadfields at £82 2s 0d per anum. Signed note at end: '26 Sep.

[Pattison family of farmers in the Bishop Auckland area of County Durham.] Manuscript diary and accounts, in 'The Newcastle Memorandum-book Or, a Methodical Pocket-journal.'

[Pattison family of farmers in the Bishop Auckland area of County Durham] [Farming in Georgian England]
Publication details: 
Newcastle: Printed by and for S. Hodgson. 'For the Year M.XCCCI [1801]. The Forty-seventh edition.'

The manuscript material is on 109pp. of the 12mo printed diary. On aged paper, with manuscript entirely legible, but some staining to printed matter, in original worn calf binding. The manuscript paints a vivid picture of the life of a prosperous Georgian agriculturalist in all its aspects, from itemised financial accounts to country pastimes and the weather. It is presumably in the hand of George Pattison, whose name is given prominence among those of other members of the Pattison family written out over two pages at the rear of the volume.

[Alexander Williamson, Laird of Balgray.] Autograph Signed 'Copy Discharge Alexr. Williamson to Edwd. Mitchell for Rent of a House in Alison's Sqe. possessed by him from Why 1800 to Why 1801'.

Alexander Williamson, Laird of Balgray (fl. 1802) [Edward Mitchell of Alison's Square, Edinburgh]
Publication details: 
[Edinburgh.] 12 October 1801.

1p., 12mo. Docketted on reverse. Good, on lightly aged paper. Reads: Copy | Newington Edh. 12th. Octr. 1801 | Recd. from Mr. Edwd Mitchell Twenty Pounds Stg. being the Rent of a House in Alison's Square in Edh. belonging to me and possessed by him for the Year from Why one Thousand Eight Hundred and one, and the same is hereby discharged. But it is to be remembered that I granted another discharge for the said Rent, dated July 1801, which being mislaid, the discharge is granted in place of it, which is not to infer double payment - A. W.'

Printed form, filled out and signed by G. C. Harrison, receiver of rents for the 'Whitechapel Estate, the Property of William Heather Meadows, Esq.', informing 'Mr Valentine' when he will be collecting rents in the 'Magpie' public house, Bishopsgate.

Gibbs Crawford Harrison, Receiver of rents, Whitechapel Estate of William Heather Medows [born Norie] (d.1896), son of John Wilson Norie (1772-1843), hydrographer [Imray, Laurie, Norie & Wilson Ltd]
Publication details: 
222 Marylebone Road, London, NW. 5 February 1872.

1p., 12mo. In fair condition, on lightly-aged and creased paper. The document reads as follows, with the autograph additions by Harrison in square brackets: 'WHITECHAPEL ESTATE, | THE PROPERTY OF | WILLIAM HEATHER MEDOWS, ESQ. | SIR, | I beg to acquaint you that I shall attend at the "Magpie," 12, New Street, Bishopsgate Street, to receive Rents on [Thursday] next, the [8th.] Instant, from Ten till One o'clock, when I have to request you will pay the Rent due by you at [Christmas] last amounting to £ [-. s17./7] | I am, SIR | Your obedient Servant, [G. C. Harrison] | Receiver.

Autograph Letter Signed ('Richard Darling') to Thomas Coningsby, 1st Earl of Coningsby (while Baron Coningsby of Clanbrassil, County Armagh) from his Dublin agent Richard Darling, discussing his Irish rents and giving figures and names.

Richard Darling of Dublin, Ireland [Thomas Coningsby (1656-1729), 1st Earl of Coningsby, formerly Baron Coningsby of Clanbrassil, County Armagh]
Publication details: 
Dublin. 8 March 1693/4.

1p., 8vo. Fair, on aged and creased paper. Addressed on reverse 'ffor the Rt. honble thomas Ld. Connigsby att Mr notts the Bookeseller in ye Pall mall | London'. The letter begins: 'My Lord/ | I have this night late got ye. order or Respit for the Surplissage of rent in the of Mr. Kiens and have sent in Closed A Rentroll how I have set ye lands being more than ever they made in ye. best of time'. He gives a figure for Coningsby's rent, of which 'the widdow must have her thirds [...] She is to pay ye. a Third of the Quittrent'.

Syndicate content