[ William Leighton Leitch, Drawing Master to Queen Victoria. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('W. L. Leitch') to the pianist and composer Clara Angela Macirone

William Leighton Leitch (1804-1883), Scottish watercolour painter, Drawing Master to Queen Victoria [ Clara Angela Macirone (1821-1895), pianist and composer ]
Publication details: 
124 Alexandra Rd, St John's Wood [ London ]. 28 November1872.

3pp., 12mo. Bifolium with mourning border. In good condition, lightly aged. A spirited and characteristic letter. He begins by explaining that he has been 'exceedingly tormented with neuralgia for the last week' and is 'still very ill at ease'. He has not been 'out of doors for some time - & tis quite impossible just now'. He regrets 'missing Dear Old Mozart - & seeing you all', but hopes to 'make up for the loss by being most dreadfully pleasant'.

[ William Leighton Leitch, Scottish artist. ] Four Autograph Letters Signed (all 'W L Leitch'), two to 'Miss Macerone' and two to 'Miss Emily', in two of which he despairs of his continuing ill health and its effects on his work.

William Leighton Leitch (1804-1883), Scottish painter and illustrator, drawing master to Queen Victoria, and Vice President of the Royal Institute of Painters in Watercolours [Miss Macerone, pianist ]
Publication details: 
The two letters to 'Miss Macerone' from Sidney House, Boundary Rd, St John's Wood [London]; 15 March 1866 and 'Friday' [no date]. The two letters to 'Miss Emily': from 124 Alexandra Rd, St John's Wood. 28 February and 11 March 1878.

The first item with discoloration to the first leaf; the rest in good condition, lightly aged. ONE: To Miss Macerone. 15 March 1866. 3pp., 12mo. Bifolium. He is sorry he missed her earlier, it being 'such a rare thing for me to be out at that time of the afternoon'. He has been 'nearly wild with rheumatism lately', and is 'taking some hot air baths'. He is 'obliged to be at 40 Gt. Marlborough St. at 5 O'Clock' and trusts that 'another bath or two will make me fit to work for I am most shockingly behind hand for the Gallery'.

[Shirley Brooks, editor of Punch.] Autograph Letter Signed to Leitch Ritchie, regarding contributions to Chambers's Journal. With the first part ONLY of Brooks's 'Sooner or Later', and note from G. E. S. Chambers describing its 'extreme rarity'.

Charles William Shirley Brooks (1816-1874), journalist, editor of Punch, 1870-1874 [Leitch Richie (1800-1875), Scottish novelist; G. E. S. Chambers of the publishers W. & R. Chambers, Ltd, Edinburgh]
Publication details: 
Brooks's letter to Leitch Ritchie from Marlborough Chambers, Pall Mall, London. 7 August [1849]. 'Sonner or Later', No. 1: London, Bradbury, Evans, and Co., 11 Bouverie Street, EC. 1866. Notes by Chambers on letterhead of W. & R. Chambers, Edinburgh.

ONE: Brooks's letter to Leitch Ritchie: 4pp., 12mo. Bifolium. Very good, on lightly-aged paper. He thanks him for his 'kind and courteous communication', and is pleased that 'the article I sent seems to you adapted to the purpose'. Brooks has, he explains, 'availed myself of your suggestions in reference to the additions'. He continues with references to Vauxhall and 'The Highland Lamp'.

Syndicate content