[ Laura Theresa Alma-Tadema, artist. ] Autograph Signature ('Laura. T. Alma Tadema').

Laura Theresa Alma-Tadema [née Epps] (1852-1909), artist, wife of Sir Lawrence Alma-Tadema (1836-1912), Anglo-Dutch painter
Publication details: 
Without date or place.

On 3 x 11 cm piece of thin card, cut from conclusion to a letter. In fair condition, aged and with traces of mount to two corners (not affecting signature). Reads: 'Yours sincerely | Laura. T. Alma Tadema'. Text on reverse: '[...] with us, I should be so pleased if you would join us - [...]'.

Autograph list by Sir Lawrence Alma-Tadema, naming pictures he has contributed to thirteen international exhibitions between 1862 and 1898, proposed in autograph queries by the art historian William Roberts.

Sir Lawrence Alma-Tadema (1836-1912), Dutch-born English painter of the 'Victorian Olympus' period [William Roberts (1862-1940), art historian]
Publication details: 
Address in bottom left-hand corner of 'W. Roberts 47, Lansdowne Gardens, Clapham, S.W.' [Circa 1898.]

1p., folio. Good, on a lightly-aged piece of ruled paper. In two columns, with the left-hand column, written out by Roberts with his address at the foot, headed 'Name of Exhibition', and listing twelve international exhibitions between 1862 (Amsterdam) and 1898 (Brussels). The right-hand column, headed 'Picture Exhibition', carries Alma-Tadema's responses, some of which are written in darker ink than others, indicating that they were added at more than one point. Alongside 'Paris (EU) 1867' he writes '13 pictures amongst them.

[Printed pamphlet.] Leighton House. Brief Notice of the Work of the late Lord Leighton, as illustrated by the studies now permanently on view at the Leighton House by A. G. Temple, F.S.A., Director of the Guildhall Art Gallery.

A. G. Temple [Sir Alfred George Temple], F.S.A., Director of the Guildhall Art Gallery [Lord Leighton [Frederic Leighton, 1st Baron Leighton]; Leighton House, 2 Holland Park Road, Kensington, W.]
Publication details: 
London: George Bell & Sons. [1900.]

[36]pp., 12mo. In olive wraps printed in green. Printed on art paper with 17 photographic illustrations (14 of them of the house), and the last four pages carrying advertisements. In fair condition, lightly aged and worn. Disbound from a collection of pamphlets ('13' in manuscript at head of front cover), and with library stitching at spine. Uncommon: five copies on COPAC and WorldCat, but none at the British Library or in North America.

Autograph Letter Signed ('W Russell Flint') to L. Carpenter of Leigh-on-Sea, discussing his artistic development.

Sir William Russell Flint (1880-1969), British artist
Publication details: 
8 July 1948; on his Peel Cottage, Campden Hill, letterhead.

4to, 2 pp. Twenty-three lines of text, clear and complete. In fair condition, creased and lightly-worn. With stamped envelope addressed by Flint. In reply to a question from Carpenter ('I very, very freqently receive letters such as yours') Flint writes: 'Dont worry about not receiving art instruction in painting because I never had a lesson in my life.' He believes he inherited the skill he 'started with', but constant study of the works of masters & constant practice have brought me (with the aid of a kindly Providence) to my present position'.

Autograph Letter Signed to 'Mrs. Francis'.

Walter Charles Horsley
Publication details: 
5 July 1904; 6 Bedford Gardens, West.

English artist (1855-1934) of the oriental school, a member of a family whose papers are in the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Two pages, 12mo. Very good, though grubby and on paper discoloured with age. He thanks her for her note and is sorry that she 'should have had any trouble about the bundles' Has heard 'on all hands that the Bargain went off extremely well', and hopes 'it was as financially successful'. 'The Egyptian called on me to-day and seemed much pleased with himself.' Hopes he 'behaved and acquitted himself well.' Signed 'Walter C Horsley'.

Two Autograph Postcards Signed to Sir Henry Trueman Wood, [Secretary,] The Society of Arts.

Sir Wyke Bayliss
Publication details: 
19 and 21 January 1893, '7 North Road | Clapham Park'.

Artist and art historian (1835-1906), President of the Royal Society of British Artists. Both items very good, if somewhat grubby, and both stamped and docketed, and signed 'Wyke Bayliss'. Both postcards with postmark over printed stamp. POSTCARD ONE: 'I was dining last night with Dr Richardson and he said he should be glad if you could let him have some more cards of invitation for my lecture on the 25th. May I ask you (if you think proper) to send them a dozen, in addition to htose you have already sent.' POSTCARD TWO: 'I send by this post the MS of my paper, for the printer.

Syndicate content