ANSON

[ Maurice O'Connell, Irish politician. ] Two Autograph Letters, the first signed and the second in the third person, to the Postmaster General the Earl of Lichfield, recommending individuals for employment in the Post Office.

Author: 
Maurice O'Connell (c.1801-1853), Irish politician, Member of Parliament for Tralee 1832-1837 and 1838-1853, son of Daniel O'Connell ('The Liberator') [ Thomas Anson, 1st Earl of Lichfield (1795-1854)]
Publication details: 
Both from 16 Pall Mall, London. June 1838 and June 1840.
£100.00

The two letters are in fair condition, lightly aged and soiled. ONE: 'Friday' (docketed date June 1838). 2pp., 12mo. Applying for 'the Post of Guard to Any of the Roads', on behalf of 'James Poyntz of Tralee'. On the reverse Lichfield has written 'sorry cannot'. TWO: 'Friday' (docketed date 19 June 1840). 2pp., 12mo. 'Mr Maurice O'Connell presents his Compliments to Lord Lichfield and begs to recommend bearer John Keating for employment as a Letter Carrier - Mr M O'C will feel much obliged by Keating's appointment'. Docketed by Lichfield on reverse: 'a test - but negligible chance'.

[ William Charles Macready, actor-manager. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('W. C. Macready') [ to John W. Anson ] regarding the possibility of his acting in Dundee.

Author: 
William Charles Macready (1793-1873), English actor, manager of Covent Garden Theatre, London [ John W. Anson (1817-1881), Scottish actor ]
Publication details: 
5 Clarence Terrace, Regent's Park, London. 13 October 1849.
£55.00

1p., 16mo. Mourning border. In fair condition, on aged paper, with minor traces of mount adhering to corners on reverse. 'Whether I may be able to visit Dundee or no, I cannot at present say; but with every wish to make my arrangements, if possible, serviceable to you, I have made a memorandum in case I should have any nghts, that I can perform there - and if I should be able, I will duly apprize you.' He ends by sending his regards to Mrs Anson.

[ Admiral George Anson Byron (1789-1868), 7th Lord Byron. ] Autograph Note Signed ('Byron.'), directing admission to the gallery House of Lords.

Author: 
Admiral George Anson Byron (1789-1868), 7th Baron Byron, cousin of the poet Lord Byron [ George Gordon Noel, 6th Baron Byron of Rochdale ]
Publication details: 
7 March 1846.
£65.00

1p., landscape 12mo. In good condition, lightly-aged, with minor traces of glue from mount on reverse. With a large firm signature, the text reads: 'Admit the Bearer to the Gallery of the House of Lords | Byron. | Monday | March 7th 1846'.

[ Minnie Walters Anson, English miniaturist. ] Two Autograph Letters Signed to 'Miss Newcomb' [ secretary of Marcus Adams Limited], regarding miniatures made from photographs of children taken by her brother-in-law Marcus Adams

Author: 
Walters Anson [ Minnie Walters Anson ] (1875-1959), RMS [ Royal Miniature Society ], miniaturist [ Lambeth School of Art ], wife of artist Chris Adams (1867-1960), brother of Marcus Adams
Publication details: 
Both on her letterhead ('WALTERS ANSON, R.M.S.'), 48 Parkstone Avenue, Parkstone, Dorset. 6 and 11 February 1950.
£180.00

Both letters 2pp., 12mo. Both in good condition, lightly-aged, the second with the first page lightly crossed through in pencil. The letters relate to work done for the firm of her brother-in-law Marcus Adams (described in his Times obituary as 'the outstanding child photographer of his day and photographer to the Royal Family for more than 30 years'), at 43 Dover Street, Mayfair. She begins the first letter by explaining that she has 'endeavoured to make the Woodall miniature like the snapshot, but unless they are really satisfied I had better do another.

Autograph Letter Signed ['to Pinkham'].

Author: 
Sir William Reynell Anson
Publication details: 
20 August 1902; on letterhead 'GLENTROMIE, | KINGUSSIE, N.B.'
£45.00

English jurist (1843-1914), Warden of All Souls college, Oxford. Two pages, 12mo. On discoloured, grubby, creased paper, with a small closed tear and some bleeding due to damp on the verso. Extensive damp damage to blank second leaf of bifoliate. Docketed as 'To Pinkham'. Before leaving Oxford the previous week he 'ordered a somewhat miscellaneous collection of books' to be sent to his correspondent's library. 'It was a small collection - a few biographies, some college histories and one or two books which chanced to be in the booksellers catalogue & which looked interesting.

Autograph Letter Signed to [Thomas] Attree.

Author: 
Robert Plumer Ward
Publication details: 
24 September 1834; Gilston Park, Harlow.
£56.00

English novelist and politician (1765-1846). The recipient (c1778-1863) was an influential Brighton solicitor, owner of Queen's Park. One page, octavo. On discoloured and lightly creased paper, with fraying and several small closed tears, but with no loss to text. An affectionate letter inviting Attree to Harlow. 'Fred.

Syndicate content