DILLON

[ Edward Loomis Davenport, American actor. ] Autograph Letter in the third person, to T. F. D. Croker, praising his 'Dramatic Register'.

Author: 
Edward Loomis Davenport (1816-1877), American actor [ Thomas Francis Dillon Croker (1831-1912), son of Irish antiquary Thomas Crofton Croker (1798-1854) ]
Publication details: 
'T[heatre] R[oyal]. D[rury] Lane | Mar 19 [ 1853 ]'.
£35.00

1p., 12mo. In good condition, on aged paper. In envelope with Penny Red stamp and postmarks (including one dated 21 March 1853), addressed by Davenport to 'J F. D. Croker Esq | 3 Gloucester Road | Old Brompton'. He thanks him for sending 'his Dramatic Register of 52 (& one also 51 while in Scotland)', and congratulates 'Mr C upon the very excellent style in which he has put the facts together'. Also present are a cutting relating to Davenport, from the New York Albion, 24 February 1855, and a small engraved portrait of 'MR.

Autograph Letter Signed ('John F. Dillon') from Sir John Fox Dillon of Lismullen to 'My dear Mary', criticising the 'queer state' of Irish politics, First World War 'shirkers', and describing what he claims as the first tractor in Ireland.

Author: 
Sir John Fox Dillon (1843-1925) of Lismullen, Navan, County Meath, Baron of the Holy Roman Empire
Publication details: 
On letterhead of Lismullen, Navan, County Meath [Ireland; Eire]. 20 December 1917.
£220.00

4pp., 12mo. Bifolium. 61 lines, closely written in a crabbed, difficult hand. Good, on lightly-aged paper. He begins by thanking her for a book, before commenting: 'Things are in such a queer state in this country that it is hard to know what will happen. This Government is enough to drive one mad. They are afraid to do a thing until the Convention has come to some sort of compromise (which no party will accept). The Sin [sic] Feins will do their best to upset any recommendation the Convention may come to. You must remember there are the Ulster men (Royalists) Royalists [sic] from all parts.

Autograph Signature of the Irish politician and traveller, John Talbot Dillon, Baron Dillon.

Author: 
Sir John Talbot Dillon (1739-1805), 1st Baronet, Baron Dillon, Irish politician, traveller and author
Publication details: 
Madrid. 1 July 1777.
£120.00

1p., 12mo. An autograph note, apparently written at the head of the detached fly-leaf of a book. Fair, on aged paper, laid down on a torn page from an autograph album. Reads: 'This is a Curious & very Scarce Book. - | Madrid 1st. July 1777. | [signed] John Talbot Dillon | Knt. & Baron of the S. R. Empire.' The abbreviation stands for 'Sacred Roman Empire'.

Autograph Signature ('John Dillon').

Author: 
John Dillon (1851-1927), Irish politian, Parnellite Member of Parliament for County Tipperary, Home Rule activist and land reform agitator
Publication details: 
Date and place not stated.
£23.00

On piece of paper roughly 5.5 x 11.5 cm. Cut away from a letter for an autograph hunter. Laid down on a piece of paper removed from an album. Fair, on lightly-aged paper. Reads '<...> | Yours sincerely | John Dillon'.

To the President of the United States of America.

Author: 
Laurence O'Neill.
Publication details: 
No place but "Given at the Mansion House, Dublin, this 11th day of June, 1918".
£350.00

Printed pamphlet, 12pp., folio, , front page (title also) soiled, fold mark, mainly good, signature of J.R.N. Macphail on front page. In custom-made modern green folder. Subjects re. Nat Lib Ireland: Great Britain Army -- Recruiting, enlistment, etc. -- World War, 1914-1918 -- Ireland; Draft -- Ireland; World War, 1914-1918 -- Ireland; Ireland -- Politics and government -- 1918. WITH: (Printed) letter from L. O'Neill to His Excellency the American Ambassador, Mansion House, Dublin, 18 June 1918, one page, folio, sl. chipped, fold mark, mainly good, signature of Macphail also.

Autograph Letter Signed to T[homas]. F[rederick]. Dillon Croker.

Author: 
Frederic George Kitton
Publication details: 
6 May 1903; on letterhead 'PRÉ MILL HOUSE, | ST. ALBANS, | HERTS.'
£75.00

Noted Dickens scholar (1856-1904). Croker was the son of the Irish antiquary Thomas Crofton Croker. Two pages, 12mo. Good, but with a few stains. 'I am sorry to learn that the Dickens items which you so kindly lent to the Exhibition have not yet been returned to you, and am making enquiries at once. | [...] some of my memoranda went astray when they were removed from one room to another at the Memorial Hall during my absence, and the paper containing your address could not be discovered. | I have reason to believe that good things are in the safe custody of Mr. Miller (Hon. Sec.

Two Autograph Letters Signed to [Thomas Francis Dillon Croker].

Author: 
Thomas Wright
Publication details: 
2 and [7] March, [1856]; both from 14, Sydney Street, Brompton.
£95.00

English antiquary and archaeologist (1810-77). The recipient (1831-1912), son of Thomas Crofton Croker, was an Irish antiquary. Both letters one page, 12mo. Both grubby, discoloured and stained. The first with closed tear to one corner. LETTER ONE (dated from postmark on accompanying envelope addressed to Croker, with Penny Red stamp): He has 'Fairholt's letter safe, and, though I cannot put my hand on it this moment, I will take care of it for you.

Syndicate content