BIOLOGIST

[ George John Romanes, evolutionary biologist. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('G. J. Romanes') to 'Mr. Harborough', regarding the application of Arthur Nicols to be a lecturer.

Author: 
G. J. Romanes [ George John Romanes ] (1848-1894), evolutionary biologist, born in Canada, friend and colleague of Charles Darwin [ Arthur Nicols ]
Publication details: 
18 Cornwall Terrace, Regents Park [ London ]. 7 May 1883.
£180.00

2pp., 12mo. On bifolium with mourning border. In fair condition, aged and worn, with the second leaf laid down on part of a leaf cut from an autograph album. He is enclosing 'a Lecture Syllabus from Mr. Nicol, whom you may perhaps remember having seen meet me in the committee room on the day of my lecture'. Nicols wants Romanes to recommend him as a lecturer, but he only knows him 'from his book "Zoological Notes" which I reviewed in Nature.

Autograph Letter Signed ('Alec. Fleming') to 'Peggy'.

Author: 
Sir Alexander Fleming (1881-1955), Scottish biologist and pharmacologist, discoverer of penicillin and co-winner of the Nobel Prize for physiology and medicine in 1945
Publication details: 
31 October 1953; on letterhead of 20A Danvers Street, Cheyne Walk, London, S.W.3.
£450.00

8vo: 1 p. Good, laid down on the reverse of the front free endpaper of a copy of Andre Maurois's 'The Life of Sir Alexander Fleming' (London, 2nd imp., 1959). Reads 'Thank you very much. We would be delighted to be with you on Nov 12th. I think all is well with me now & I am off to Edinburgh on Monday. | Yours sincerely | [signed] Alec. Fleming'. The context is explained on pp. 265-6 of the book. 'In October 1953 he was due to make a speech at the opening of 'Les Journees Medicales' in Nice. Two days before the appointed date, he woke up with a high fever. He himself diagnosed pneumonia.

One Autograph Letter Signed, and four Typed Notes Signed to "Dr. Crow" [W.B. Crow, author of "Contributions to the Principles of Morphology".]

Author: 
Charles Singer, historian of science, technology, and medicine
Publication details: 
5 North Grove, Highgate Village, [London], N6, 1928-1931.
£120.00

Total of five letters, total 5pp., 8vo (4) and 12mo (1), small amount of chipping and staining, texts clear and complete. (1928) He acknowledges receipt of "Symmetry in Organisms" which he read with 'pleasure & profit'; (March 1929) He acknowldges recipt of 'Principles of Morphology' which he found particularly interesting "because I am writing the section on the subject in my 'History of Biology'"; (April 1929) "I am delighted to sign your application for teh Royal Society of Medicine. I fear you will find it rather expensive.

Autograph Letter Signed ('T. H. Huxley') from the biologist and supporter of Charles Darwin's theory of evolution Thomas Henry Huxley, declining to give a lecture.

Author: 
Thomas Henry Huxley [T. H. Huxley] (1825-1895), English biologist and a leading advocate of Charles Darwin's theory of evolution
Publication details: 
On letterhead of Hodeslea, Staveley Road, Eastbourne. 24 November 1892.
£250.00

2pp., 12mo. Bifolium. Very good, on lightly-aged paper. The name of the addressee is indistinct, and appears to be 'S. Algernon'. The letter reads: 'Dear Sir | I regret that I am unable to give the Lecture you ask for. I really have no business to undertake any kind of public speaking & except in very special circumstances, I keep out of it'.

Autograph Letter Signed ('D. J. Scourfield') from the biologist and microscopist David Joseph Scourfield to 'Dr. Crow' [William Bernard Crow], describing a 'living specimen from Eagle Pond, Epping Forest, of a species of Volvox'.

Author: 
David Joseph Scourfield (1866-1949), ISO, FLS, FZS, FRMS, biologist and microscopist [Dr William Bernard Crow (1895-1976), biologist and occultist]
Publication details: 
63 Queen's Road, Leytonstone, E11. 26 September 1927.
£95.00

3pp., 12mo. Good, on lightly-aged paper, on two leaves pinned together. He begins: 'I am sending herewith living specimens from Eagle Pond, Epping Forest, of a species of Volvox without protoplasmic connections between the cells. If you have not had it before you will no doubt be interested. If you have, I should be glad if you could tell me what you think it ought to be called. It is evidently close, if not identical, with V. Monona Gilb. Smith recorded by Pearsall as British from the Lake Dist. But it may also be V. tertius Meyer (cf.

Autograph Signature ('P. Geddes') on fragment of letter.

Author: 
Sir Patrick Geddes (1854-1932), Scottish biologist, botanist and pioneer of urban planning
Publication details: 
Without date or place.
£15.00

On piece of grey paper 1.5 x 10 cms. Good. Reads '[in another hand] Yours faithfully, | [signed] P. Geddes'. Good firm signature, slightly overlapping lower loop of the central 'f' in 'faithfully'.

Syndicate content