[Sir Edward Fry, judge and zoologist.] Autograph Letter in the third person, asking Bernard Piffard, microscopist etc, to send him a 'Micro-slide'.

Sir Edward Fry (1827-1918), judge and zoologist, Lord Justice of Appeal [Bernard Piffard (1833-1916), entomologist and microscopist]
Publication details: 
14 November 1885. On letterhead of 5 The Grove, Highgate [London].

See his entry in the Oxford DNB. From the Piffard papers. 1p, 12mo. On first leaf of bifolium. In good condition, lightly aged. Folded twice. Reads: 'Lord Justice Fry would be obliged if Mr Piffard would send him a Micro-slide of Conidia bearing Hyphae of Eurotium repens, isolated & stained by a new application of Iodine Vapour. He encloses 2/- in stamps.'

[Yves Delage, Professor at the Sorbonne, French zoologist who believed in the authenticity of the Turin Shroud; critic of Darwinism] Printed publishers? catalogue, headed by Delage's ?La Structure du Protoplasma et les Th?ories sur l?H?r?dite?.

Yves Delage (1854-1920), French zoologist who discovered the function of the canals in the inner ear and believed in the authenticity of the Turin Shroud [Librairie C. Reinwald & Cie, Paris.]
Publication details: 
Librairie C. Reinwald & Cie, 15, rue des Saints-P?res, Paris.

A scarce piece of scientific publishing ephemera. No other copy traced. 8pp, 8vo. Aged, worn and spotted, with staples rotted away. The cover is headed 'Librairie C. Reinwald & Cie, 15, rue des Saints-P?res, Paris / Derni?res publications / relative aux sciences m?dicales et naturelles.' Delage's work ('Vient de para?tre') is noticed on the cover, with an 'Extrait de la table des mati?res' extending to the end of the second page. Other many other publications noticed are 'L'Embryologie compar?e par Le Dr Louis Roule'. and 'Trait? d'anatomie compar?e pratique par Carl Vogt et ?mile Yung'.

[Lancelot Hogben, zoologist, medical statistician and popularizer of science.] Autograph Note Signed to Philip Dosse, publisher of ‘Books and Bookmen’, explaining that ill health prevents him from accepting his ‘flattering invitation’ (to review).

Lancelot Hogben [Lancelot Thomas Hogben] (1895-1975), experimental zoologist, medical statistician and popularizer of science [Philip Dosse (1925-1980), publisher of ‘Books and Bookmen’]
Publication details: 
12 June 1974; on his letterhead (‘formerly Vice-Chancellor, University of Guyana, Emeritus Professor of Medical Statistics, University of Birmingham’), Lloches y Fwyalchen, Glyn Ceiriog, nr. Llangollen, North Wales.

See his entry in the Oxford DNB. The recipient Philip Dosse was proprietor of Hansom Books, publisher of a stable of seven arts magazines including Books and Bookmen and Plays and Players. See ‘Death of a Bookman’ by the novelist Sally Emerson (editor of ‘Books and Bookmen’ at the time of Dosse’s suicide), in Standpoint magazine, October 2018. The present item is 1p, 4to. In good condition, lightly aged and creased. Folded three times for postage. Reads: ‘Dear Mr Dossé / I am afraid that the present state of my health does not permit me to take advantage of your flattering invitation. Sorry.

[William Yarrell, zoologist.] Autograph Signature (‘Wm. Yarrell.’) as ‘Treasurer’ (of the Entomological or Linnean Society).

William Yarrell (1784-1856), eminent English zoologist, author of standard reference works on British fishes (1836) and birds (1843), treasurer of the Entomological Society and the Linnean Society
Publication details: 
No place or date.

See his entry in the Oxford DNB. On 11 x 7.5 cm piece of paper, cut from a printed document. The signature is large, bold and undamaged, on heavily-worn paper with several instances of damage, laid down on a piece of card. The printed text reads: ‘[...] / I [have] the honour to be, / Sir, / Your most obedient / and very humble Servant, / [Autograph Signature ‘Wm. Yarrell’] / Treasurer.’

[ William Benjamin Carpenter, physiologist, author of one of the first temperance books. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('William B. Carpenter') to the mathematician l'Abbé Moigno

William Benjamin Carpenter (1813-1885), Registrar of the University of London, zoologist and physiologist, temperance advocate [ François Napoléon Marie Moigno [ l'Abbé Moigno ] (1804-1884) ]
Publication details: 
375 Hotel du Louvre [ Paris ]. 8 April 1863.

Carpenter's most famous work is The Use and Abuse of Alcoholic Liquors in Health and Disease. The first printing of the first edition was published in London by Charles Gilpin in March 1850. It was one of the first temperance books (Washingtonian Movement) to promote the fact that alcoholism is a disease. He was also one of the founders of the modern theory of the adaptive unconscious. 2pp., 12mo. Bifolium. In fair condition, aged and worn. He reminds him of his 'kind promise to procure for me an invitation to M.

[ William Sweetland Dallas, zoologist, 'collaborateur to Darwin'. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('W. S. Dallas') to 'G. Masters', agreeing under duress to allow a visit to the Geological Society collection, the scope of which he discusses.

W. S. Dallas [ William Sweetland Dallas ] (1824-1890) of the Geological Society, zoologist, friend and 'collaborateur' to Charles Darwin, as also Huxley, Owen and Lyell
Publication details: 
On letterhead of the Geological Society, Burlington House, W. [ London ] 19 May 1882.

4pp., 12mo. Bifolium. In good condition, lightly aged. He begins by conveying his irritation that Masters had arranged 'a visit to the Society's Museum' without consulting 'the authorities'. However, as the notices have been distributed, and 'the party will be a very small one, we must do the best we can'. He asks to be informed, 'by return of post, what you think will interest your friends, in order that the drawers may be got out & prepared for their inspection'.

[ Sir James Gray, zoologist. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('James Gray') to the Secretary, Royal Society of Arts, explaining why he cannot chair 'Dr. Cole's "Cantor" Lecture'.

Sir James Gray (1880-1975), British zoologist who helped establish the field of cytology [structure of cells etc]
Publication details: 
On letterhead of King's Field, West Road, Cambridge. 31 January 1962.

1p., 8vo. In fair condition, lightly-aged, with small pin-hole at top left and Gray's signature underlined in red pencil. He would have 'loved' to chair 'Dr. Cole's "Cantor" Lecture on 22 May, but has to 'attend at [sic] series of meetings in Ireland during the whole of that week'. He has written to Cole on the matter.

[ Adam White, Victorian zoologist praised by Charles Darwin. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('Adam White: Assistant Zool Dept Brit. Mus') to his relation Martha [Dewar], regarding family history, and his friend the author and botanist Rev. James Hamilton.

Adam White (1817-1878), Scottish zoologist in the Zoological Department, British Museum, praised by Charles Darwin [ Rev. James Hamilton (1814-1867), Scottish minister, author and botanist ]
Publication details: 
3 Albion Grove West, Islington. 22 February 1849.

1p., 4to. 31 lines of text, written in a neat and close hand.

[Philip Lutley Sclater, Secretary of the Zoological Society of London.] Autograph Letter in the third person to 'Mis Kerr'.

Philip Lutley Sclater (1829-1913), lawyer and zoologist, Secretary of the Zoological Society of London, 1860-1902
Publication details: 
On letterhead of the Zoological Society of London, 11 Hanover Square. 29 August 1877.

1p, 12mo. In good condition, on lightly-aged paper, with traces of glue from mount on the blank reverse. Reads: 'The Secretary presents his compliments to Miss Kerr and begs leave to inform her the Composition fee of £35 has been duly paid to Drummond & Co'.

Autograph Letter Signed ('Willm. B Carpenter') from the English zoologist William Benjamin Carpenter, explaining to Rev. John Page Hopps why he cannot address a meeting.

William Benjamin Carpenter (1813-1885), English physician, zoologist, physiologist, and Registrar of the University of London from 1856 to 1879 [Rev. John Page Hopps (1834-1911), spiritualist]
Publication details: 
On letterhead of the University of London, Burlington Gardens, W. 17 February 1875.

2pp., 12mo. In good condition, on aged paper, tipped in onto a card mount. He explains that he is 'obliged to return to London immediately after the delivery of my Lecture in Glasgow', and so will not be able 'to address the audience you bring together'. If he is 'asked to take part in the Glasgow Science Lectures' the following year, he will bear Hopps's wish in mind. Hopps was both an evolutionist and spiritualist, while Carpenter considered the claims of spiritualism 'epidemic delusions'.

Autograph Letter Signed ('F Barham Zincke') from the antiquary and radical Foster Barham Zincke to 'My dear Mr Flower' [Sir William Henry Flower], regarding the latter's five-month stay in Egypt.

Rev. Foster Barham Zincke (1817-1893), English antiquary and radical pamphleteer, educated at Wadham College, Oxford [Sir William Henry Flower (1831-1899), Director of the Natural History Museum]
Publication details: 
Wherstead Vicarage, Ipswich. 28 May <1874?>.

4pp., 12mo. Very good, on lightly-aged paper, with minor traces of stub adhering to margin. He has received Flower's 'catalogue'. 'I was sure you wd. be delighted with Egypt. It has so much to tell us about man & nature. The early stages of mans progress, & the variety of nature.' Zincke would like 'time to look into things & to think about them': he was in Egypt 'only as many weeks as you were months'.

Signature and subscription from Autograph Letter, signed W.B. Carpenter, zoologist etc.

William Benjamin Carpenter MD CB FRS 813–1885), English physician, invertebrate zoologist and physiologist.
William Benjamin Carpenter MD CB FRS 813–1885), English physician
Publication details: 
No place or date surviving.
William Benjamin Carpenter MD CB FRS 813–1885), English physician

Paper, 11 x 5cm, faint traces on reverse of its origin in an album, 99 in bottom corner in another hand (number in collection), mainly good. Believe me to be, Dr Sir, yours most sincerely WB Carpenter.

Syndicate content