[George Douglas, 16th Earl of Morton, Queen's Chamberlain.] Autograph Letter Signed ('Morton') to Viscount Sidmouth, transmitting an address to the Prince Regent on the death of his mother Queen Charlotte.

George Douglas (1761-1827), 16th Earl of Morton [Henry Addington (1757-1844), 1st Viscount Sidmouth; Queen Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, wife of George III; George IV (as Prince Regent)]
Publication details: 
25 December 1818. 39 Wimpole Street [London].

1p, 4to. Bifolium endorsed on reverse of second leaf: 'Ansd. 30th. | Transfg. an Address of Condolence from the County of Fife'. In good condition, lightly aged. Folded twice. The subject of the address is the Prince Regent's mother Queen Charlotte (1744-1818), and is addressed to him rather than her husband George III as the king is incapacitated. Morton served as Queen Charlotte's Chamberlain between 1792 and her death in 1818.

[ Andrew Alexander, Professor of Greek in the University of St Andrews. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('Andw. Alexander') to Major R. G. Macgregor

Andrew Alexander (c.1787-1859), Professor of Greek in the University of St Andrews, Fife, Scotland [ Major Robert Guthrie Macgregor (1805-1869) ]
Publication details: 
St Andrews [ Fife, Scotland ]. 15 December 1855.

4pp., 12mo. Bifolium. In fair condition, aged and worn. A good long letter, full of content, thanking him for a presentation copy of his 'Translations from the Greek Anthology' (published without date in London by Nissen and Parker). He has perused most of Macgregor's translations 'with great pleasure, & several with a sentiment which the word pleasure too coldly expresses'. He has not 'examined them critically, comparing them minutely with the Greek text, in order to satisfy myself, whether the meaning of the Authors was faithfully rendered.

[ Archibald Macwhirter, Scottish author. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('A. Macwhirter') to London theatrical bookseller Barry Duncan, placing a order. With carbon copy of Duncan's detailed reply.

Archibald Macwhirter, Scottish 'Antiquarian and General Writer'
Publication details: 
Macwhirter's lettter on his pictorial letterhead, Ardgaith, Dysart, Fife [ Scotland ]. 16 July 1965.

Both items in fair condition, lightly aged and creased, with a little rust spotting from a paperclip. Macwhirter's letter is 2pp., landscape 8vo. The letterhead, featuring two engravings of coaches, is printed in blue, and boasts that Macwhirter is an 'Antiquarian and General Writer | Contributor since 1926 to leading journals', as well as 'Lecturer in New College, Edinburgh, to Scottish Church History Society, 1944 and 1952.' It also contains a three-line list of the journals he has contributed to.

[Charles Cecil Cope Jenkinson, 3rd Earl of Liverpool.] Autograph Note in the third person to 'Mr Broser'

Charles Cecil Cope Jenkinson, 3rd Earl of Liverpool [Lord Liverpool] (1784-1851), Tory politician
Publication details: 
Fife House [London]. 13 October 1847.

1p., 12mo. Good, on lightly aged and worn paper. The note reads: 'Ld Liverpool encloses a draft value 57 .. 12. 2 to Mr Broster he begs Mr Browster will acknowledge the receipt of this by a letter addressed as above'.

[John Haig, whisky distiller at Cameron Bridge.] Autograph Letter Signed to Thomas Bywater of Wemyss Castle, Fife, apologising for being unable to pay the rent immediately, as he is 'going to Melrose fair'.

John Haig, whisky distiller, Cameron Bridge Distillery [Thomas Bywater, Wemyss Castle, Kirkaldy, Fife, Scotland; Melrose fair]
Publication details: 
Cameronbridge [i.e. Cameron Bridge Distillery]. 10 August 1840.

1p., 4to. Bifolium. Addressed on reverse of second leaf, with Kirkaldy postmark, to 'Thos. Bywater Esq | Wemyss Castle | Kirkaldy'. Reads: 'I have your notice & meant to have sent you the Baln. of Rent tomorrow but the remittances I was counting on have not come forward today & I am going to Melrose fair tomorrow before Post time & wont be back till the end of the week but you may count upon it on Monday or Tuesday next week when I expect to be here again'.

Two autograph diaries of Rev. William Jebb Few, MA, of Christ Church, Oxford, 'continued during residence' at Henley-on-Thames; Alverston, Hampshire; Braemar, Elgin and Banff (as tutor to the Earl of Fife's son); Reading. With carte de visite.

William Jebb Few (c.1835-c.1881), MA, of Christ Church, Oxford, and Rector of St Nicholas, Guildford, Surrey [Alexander William George Duff (1849-1912), 1st Duke of Fife]
Publication details: 
The two diaries covering the period from 30 May 1858 to 25 August 1864, and written at Henley on Thames, Oxfordshire; Alverston, Hampshire; Mar Lodge, Braemar; House, Elgin; Duff House, Banff; and 6 Coley Hill and 4 Castle Crescent, Reading.

Both volumes in good condition, on lightly-aged paper, in worn black leather bindings, marbled endpapers. Both 4to, the first volume smaller than the second. First Diary: 168pp., 4to. Titled by Few: 'Diary commencing May 30, 1858, and continued during residence at Henley on Thames Oxfordshire. Alverston Hampshire'. Includes two pages of addresses, page of 'Books Read' in 1860 and 1861, and page of accounts for 1861. Second Diary: 180pp., 4to.

Typed Letter Signed ('David') from Sir David Russell to his cousin Frank Carr Nicholson, discussing Rodney Collins's book on Ouspensky, Alexis Aladin, and 'books we have read'. With copy of his anonymous pamphlet 'Iona. A Short Chronological Table'.

Sir David Russell (1872-1956) of Silverburn, Leven, Fife [Frank Carr Nicholson (1875-1962), Librarian, Edinburgh University Library; Alexis Aladin (d.1927); Rodney Collins; Gurdieff; Ouspensky]
Publication details: 
Letter on letterhead of Silverburn, Leven, Fife; 4 April 1956. Pamphlet printed by McLagan & Cumming, Edinburgh;1932.

Both letter and pamphlet in very good condition. Letter: 8pp., 4to. Written a few days before Russell's death on 12 March 1956. On the first page he describes how the London esoteric bookseller J. M.

Autograph Signature of John Hunter, LLD, Professor of Humanity at the University of St Andrews, with accompanying note by Rev. Thomas Dick.

John Hunter (1745-1837), Professor of Humanity, University of St Andrews, Fife, and classical scholar [Rev. Thomas Dick (1774-1857), writer on science]
Publication details: 
[February 1834]; St Andrews, Fife.

On one side of piece of paper approximately 18 x 8.5 cm. Neatly placed in a windowpane mount of laid paper, 25 x 20 cm. Good, on lightly-aged paper. Written in a clear, firm hand: 'John Hunter LL.D. | Profr. of Humanity | St. Andrews. | Fife.' Beneath this, along the foot of the page, in a small hand (identified in note on mount as 'The writing of Dr Dick, author of "The Christian Philosopher &c'): 'Dr Hunter is about 90 years of age, and still retains his bodily & mental vigour | This Autograph was written in Feby. 1834. T. D.'

Syndicate content