CALLCOTT

[ William James Callcott, marine artist. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('W. J. Callcott') to Dr Maitland Coffin, offering a painting at an 'awfully low' price so that he can pay his studio rent.

Author: 
William James Callcott (c.1823-1900), English marine artist [ Maitland Coffin ]
Publication details: 
From 48 Stockwell Park Crescent, London S.W. On letterhead of the Savage Club, Lancaster House, Savoy, W.C. 22 December 1886.
£180.00

2pp., 12mo. Bifolium. In good condition, lightly aged. Headed 'Private'. He writes that he called the previous day at Coffin's chambers, and that he will do so the following day, 'and will bring that bit for the wall'. He states 'in confidence' that he wishes to 'pay a surgeon on Saty next £6. 5. 0 rent for Studio - he is a good fellow but he wants his rent'. Callcott has in the studio 'a number of works, & I would let you have (if agreeable) a good picture recent work size 61in x 41 - Rocky Coast - never used yet in Exhibition or otherwise'.

[G. B. O'Neill, Irish painter.] Autograph Letter Signed ('G. Bernard O'Neill'), inviting G. W. Cooke to join in a 'friendly cup' with him and 'Mr. Callcott' [William Hutchins Callcott?], who is bringing sketches for him to inspect.

Author: 
G. B. O'Neill [George Bernard O'Neill] (1828-1917), Irish painter [G. W. Cooke [George Wingrove Cooke] (1814-1865), lawyer and historian; Sir Augustus Wall Callcott (1779-1844)]
Publication details: 
'The Mall | Kensington. | Monday'. No date.
£75.00

2pp., 12mo. In good condition, lightly aged. In 1857 O'Neill married Emma Stuart Callcott, granddaughter of the artist Sir Augustus Wall Callcott, from whose house the present letter is addressed. He informs Cooke that he has 'asked Mr. Callcott [probably O'Neill's father-in-law William Hutchins Callcott (1807-1882)] to come & take a "friendly cup" with me on Thursday Evg. & we shall be glad of your company if you can favour us'. In a postscript O'Neill states that Callcott has promised to let him have 'the sketches I spoke to you of, in case you should come'.

Autograph Letter Signed ('Philip H Calderon.') from Philip Hermogenes Calderon, member of the St John's Wood Clique, to fellow-artist John Callcott Horsley, describing a trip to the 'dissolute city' of Paris.

Author: 
Philip Hermogenes Calderon (1833-1898), English painter born in France of Spanish extractino, member of St John's Wood Clique, Keeper of the Royal Academy, London [John Callcott Horsley (1817-1903)]
Publication details: 
On letterhead of 9 Marlborough Place, St John's Wood, NW. 'Sunday Evening' [no date].
£220.00

3pp., 12mo. Bifolium with mourning border. Good, on lightly-aged paper, with thin neat strip of paper mount at head of third page.

Autograph Letter Signed ('M Callcott') from the traveller and author Maria Callcott [previously Maria Dundas and Maria Graham] to the antiquary Edward Vernon Utterson.

Author: 
Maria Callcott (1785-1842) [n
Publication details: 
London; postmarked 26 May 1829.
£60.00

1p., 12mo. Good, on lightly-aged paper. Addressed, with oval red postmark and broken red wax seal, on reverse of second leaf of bifolium to 'E. V. Utterson Esqre | 32 York Terrace | Regents park'. She writes that she and her husband are 'sorry to have so bad an account of Mrs Utterson', whom she will visit 'when she can see her friends'. 'Mr. Callcott [the landscape painter Augustus Wall Callcott (1779-1844)] was in York Terrace yesterday but having forgotten your number & finding you denied at three or four doors he began to think you had moved or that I had given him a wrong direction'.

Autograph Letter Signed ('A W Callcott.') to an unnamed male correpsondent.

Author: 
Sir Augustus Wall Callcott (1770-1844), English painter
Publication details: 
11 January 1833; <?> Kensington Gravel Pits.
£35.00

12mo, 1 p. Good, on lightly aged and ruckled paper. Laid down on a piece of grey paper removed from an autograph album. Accepting an invitation, and informing the recipient that 'Mrs Callcott has recovered from her last attack - but she is still slightly affected at times, and is very weak.'

Autograph Letter Signed to 'Mrs. Francis'.

Author: 
Walter Charles Horsley
Publication details: 
5 July 1904; 6 Bedford Gardens, West.
£36.00

English artist (1855-1934) of the oriental school, a member of a family whose papers are in the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Two pages, 12mo. Very good, though grubby and on paper discoloured with age. He thanks her for her note and is sorry that she 'should have had any trouble about the bundles' Has heard 'on all hands that the Bargain went off extremely well', and hopes 'it was as financially successful'. 'The Egyptian called on me to-day and seemed much pleased with himself.' Hopes he 'behaved and acquitted himself well.' Signed 'Walter C Horsley'.

Syndicate content