EMMANUEL

[ Rev. Thomas Arthur Preston of Marlborough College, botanist. ] Autograph Letter Signed ('T. A. Preston') to J. Ramsay, regarding 'the connection between Vegetation & Climate', a subject 'in its infancy'.

Author: 
T. A. Preston [ Rev. Thomas Arthur Preston ] (1833-1905) of Marlborough College, botanist
Publication details: 
On letterhead of The College [amended by Preston to 'Green'], Marlborough. 28 May 1881.
£250.00

12pp., 12mo. On three bifoliums. In good condition, lightly aged. A long speculation - of great interest in the light of subsequent developments - on 'the connection between Vegetation & Climate', beginning with a discussion of 'the case of the Hawthorn'. 'The whole subject', he notes, 'at present is in its infancy and there are so many varied questions for wh. we seek answers that at present I do not think we can state any certain conclusions. | Botanically, the constitution of each species is an interesting source of investigation.

[ Rev. Francis Wilson, Principal of Woking College, Surrey. ] Spoof Manuscript Prospectus, satirising 'Woking College. Woking. | Preparatory for the Public Schools. '

Author: 
[ Rev. Francis Wilson (c.1848-1932), Principal of Woking College, Surrey ]
Publication details: 
[ Woking College, Surrey. ] Undated [ 1890s ].
£180.00

4pp., 12mo. Bifolium on watermarked wove paper. In good condition, lightly aged. Neatly written out. An unusual item, possibly the work of a disgruntled former master. The 'prospectus' is preceded by 'details' of Wilson and his wife Edith: 'Principal | The Rev. F. Wilson. M.A. | Second Class in the Classical Tripos. Emmanuel College. Cambridge & for 16 years Assistant Master of Cheam School: | and | Mrs F. Wilson. who had the benefit of a thorough & excellent home education and passed no Examinations.

[Printed pamphlet.] The Man who saw Heaven and Hell, foretold the Date of his own Death, lived in both Worlds at the same Time for twenty-seven Years. Reprinted from The Sunday Dispatch. "What Shall Man Believe?" No. 4. March 4, 1934.

Author: 
Ian Coster [Emmanuel Swedenborg; The Campfield Press, St Albans]
Publication details: 
Printed in Great Britain by The Campfield Press, St. Albans. [1934? 1937?]
£120.00

32pp., 12mo. Full-page portrait of Swedenborg, from painting, on p.3. In brown printed wraps. In good condition, on aged paper, with corner of first leaf folded down, and slight spotting to front cover. Scarce: only three copies on COPAC, at the British Library, Oxford and the National Library of Wales; the first dated to 1934, and the other two to 1937.

Two Autograph Letters Signed (both 'F. Eber') from Ferdinand Eber ('General Eber'), Hungarian-born 'condottiere-journalist', to fellow Times correspondent Henry Wreford, the second letter discussing Garibaldi, Victor Emmanuel and the Risorgimento.

Author: 
Ferdinand Eber (d.1885), Hungarian-born correspondent of The Times of London, and 'condottiere-journalist' in support of Garibaldi as 'General Eber' [Henry Wreford, Times correspondent in Naples]
Publication details: 
Letter One: 33 St James's Square, London; 16 January [no year]. Letter Two: Palermo, Italy, 20 June [no year].
£280.00

On 28 February 1885 The Times announced the death of Eber, 'for many years our valued correspondent at Vienna'; and a hundred years later (24 September 1985) the same paper described Eber as 'the condottiere-journalist, General Ferdinand Eber, whose habit of engaging in wars as well as reporting them earned him the displeasure of his masters in Printing House Square'. Both items in good condition, on lightly-aged paper, with slight damage from previous mounting. Both addressed to 'My dear Wreford', and both written in a difficult hand. Letter One: 3pp., 12mo.

Autograph Letter Signed ('L. Solon') from the French potter Louis Marc Emmanuel Solon of Minton's, Stoke on Trent, thanking the unnamed recipient and his friend 'Mr Bailey' for a parcel of circulars, and discussing his library of works on ceramics.

Author: 
Louis Marc Emmanuel Solon (1825-1913), French potter, first at the Sèvres, and then with Minton's, Stoke upon Trent
Publication details: 
1 The Villas, Stoke on Trent, 8 July 1893.
£150.00

4pp., 12mo. Bifolium. Good, on lightly-aged paper. Solon has been informed by their common friend 'Mr Bailey' that the recipient has 'been kind enough to gather the parcel of circulars issued at various time [sic] by your firm, and which reaches me this morning.' He is sending 'a small pamphlet of mine [...] as an inadequate acknowledgement of the trouble I have caused you'. He continues: 'Mr Bailey must have told you that all printed matter having reference to ceramics has a special interest to me.

Anonymous manuscript account by an Englishman of travels in France, Switzerland and Italy, in a series of letters, including descriptions of the Paris Commune (including 'one of the best barricades') and the opening of the Italian parliament.

Author: 
[Voyage of an Englishman in France, Switzerland and Italy, 1869-1872; The Paris Commune and the first Parliament of the Kingdom of Italy, 1871; Communism; Siege of Paris]
Publication details: 
The first entry, describing Paris, dated '? May, 1869.' The last entry dated 'Florence, May 1, 1872.'
£750.00

31pp., 12mo. Stitched and unbound. In good condition, on lightly-aged paper. Comprising a series of transcriptions in a contemporary hand - from the annotations and emendations clearly that of the original author, an anonymous middleclass Englishman with Radical and Communist sympathies. Neatly and closely written at around 34 lines to a page - from thirteen letters, dated (with interrogation marks as given in the text): '? May, 1869', 'Paris, June 1869', 'Monastery of La Grande Chartreuse, Alps Dauphiny, Feast of S.

Two Manuscript Letters (both signed 'Lefebvre-Ducrocq') to Martin, one to Martin and the other to Flobert. The letter to Flobert carrying an Autograph Note Signed by the recipient ('Paul Flobert') to Martin.

Author: 
Imprimerie Lefebvre-Ducrocq, Lille, France [Commandant Emmanuel Martin; Paul Flobert; la Société Archéologique, Historique & Artistique le Vieux Papier]
Publication details: 
Letter to Flobert, 19 November 1917; letter to Martin, 30 November 1917. Both letters on letterhead of the Imprimerie Lefebvre-Ducrocq.
£56.00

Both items 4to, 1 p. Both on creased paper with closed tears neatly repaired on reverse with archival tape. Letter to Flobert: Most of the type of Martin's article (in the 'Bulletin de la Société Archéologique, Historique & Artistique le Vieux Papier') still exists, and the printer asks to be informed what quantity of the offprint he requires. 'Le cliché de la 1r page, qui sert à frontispiece, a été renvoyé à M.

One Autograph Letter Signed ('<Emile?> Protat) and one letter in a secretarial hand, both to Martin.

Author: 
Imprimerie Protat Frères, Macon, France (Georges Protat & Neveu Srs.) [Commandant Emmanuel Martin]
Publication details: 
The secretarial letter: Macon, 28 February 1914. Protat's letter: Macon, 3 March 1914. Both on letterhead of the Imprimerie Protat Frères.
£85.00

Both items 12mo, 1 p. Both in good condition. The secretarial letter (docketed in purple 'Repondre le 1r mars 1914'): The 'cliché Durocher', which appeared 'dans le No d'Avril 1913, page 62, et qui doit passer aussi dans le Dictionnaire [des ex-libris français] Wiggishof [...] a été designé par M. du Roure de Paulin'. Protat's letter: 'Le cliché Durocher était bien à l'imprimerie nous l'avons retrouvé. Il n'était pas à la place qu'indiquait le registre.' He apologises for having 'inutilement derangé' Martin

Autograph Letter Signed ('Walter L. Clay') to unnamed male correspondent.

Author: 
Walter Lowe Clay, of Emmanuel College, Cambridge, Victorian social scientist
Publication details: 
1 November 1866; on letterhead of the National Association for the Promotion of Social Science, 1 Adam Street, Adelphi, W.C. [London].
£45.00

Two pages, small octavo. Good, on lightly aged paper and ruckled paper, with some staining to the verso of the blank second leaf of the bifolium. His correspondent's 'paper on the high death rate in Liverpool' was not returned to Clay after being read at Manchester, 'nor can the Secretary of the Department (Captain ) obtain any intelligence of it from the reporters'. One of the reporters has sent the Captain an abstract prepared by the author. Clay asks whether he has the manuscript in his possession, and if so, whether he will send it to him.

Syndicate content